We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub-standard dining!”

Di Maggio's - South Side
Ranked #990 of 2,490 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $26 - $53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on Pollockshaws Road at Shawlands Cross, our Shawlands restaurant was established in 1985. 25 years on it continues to serve Glasgow’s South Side community, providing home-cooked Italian cuisine in a family-friendly atmosphere that everyone can enjoy. Dining is a relaxed affair and like all Di Maggio’s restaurants, the Shawlands branch is very family-friendly with colouring sheets and games for the kids. The full Di Maggio’s Italian menu is on offer alongside great value lunch and pre-theatre deals and there is also a full carry-out and delivery service available. Di Maggio’s Shawlands is in the perfect location for a quick bite before a concert or match at Hampden Park. Book early to avoid disappointment!
Reviewed December 2, 2013

As residents of Shawlands, we figured this would be a good call being a stone-throw distance from our flat. Oh, how wrong we were! It was fairly quiet for a Sunday evening. The manager had quite an unsettling presence and this somewhat tainted the dining experience. Overly observant you could say. On the upside, the waitress who served us was pleasant and bubbly which was the reason we stressed the tip goes to her. My mussels were good, but nothing spectacular and could have possibly been nuked in a microwave.My partner opted for the tempura prawns and chilli sauce and while they were tasty, these can be found in the festive treats section in Morrisons. My main was inaccurate and certainly a far cry from authentic Contadina. Not only was the menu description of this misleading, it was essentially a chicken breast smothered in a tomato based sauce, with chips and greens. And for the grand finale, my partner went for a daring and adventurous seafood pizza.

To sum it up, seafood and pizza are two things that should never meet!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 186 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Visited on a Saturday night while visiting Glasgow. On a positive I would say the majority of the staff were wonderful, atmosphere was lively and the portion sizes were generous. However I would say the food was average, cocktails were watery and I felt very crammed in. Good place for an easy quick bite to eat but not the sort of place I would recommend for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beans_M75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

On a recent visit, we found our food to be average, at best. Service was fine, the price was what you would expect. It was busy and we were not kept waiting too long or anything but really, with so many places to choose from, it would not be on my list of places to go back to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 421MaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Di Maggio's G, Social Media Assistant at Di Maggio's - South Side, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you Mary, for your feedback following your recent visit our our Southside Di Maggio's restaurant. Please be assured we take all reviews seriously in order to ensure that we maintain consistent standards throughout all our restaurants and address any negative feedback in order to improve for future visits and all our customers. We thank you for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Anything particularly special.
Quite nice place, quite nice food, quite nice price.
It is in the very average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pilxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Di Maggio's G, Social Media Assistant at Di Maggio's - South Side, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Di Maggio's Shawlands restaurant. At Di Maggio's we do our best to ensure that all our customers enjoy the food and service we provide in a family friendly atmosphere. We appreciate all feedback which we feed to our team in order to improve all aspects of our offerings. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

You can always count on this place, relaxing family meal on sunday early evening with great food and ecxellent service once again, keep up the good work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bmoore82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Di Maggio's G, Social Media Assistant at Di Maggio's - South Side, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. It's always great to hear from our customers, especially those who dine with us again and again as they enjoy Di Maggio's so much. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Maggio's - South Side also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Di Maggio's - South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing