We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service, will definetely be back!”

Di Maggio's - South Side
Ranked #1,035 of 2,472 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $27 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated on Pollockshaws Road at Shawlands Cross, our Shawlands restaurant was established in 1985. 25 years on it continues to serve Glasgow’s South Side community, providing home-cooked Italian cuisine in a family-friendly atmosphere that everyone can enjoy. Dining is a relaxed affair and like all Di Maggio’s restaurants, the Shawlands branch is very family-friendly with colouring sheets and games for the kids. The full Di Maggio’s Italian menu is on offer alongside great value lunch and pre-theatre deals and there is also a full carry-out and delivery service available. Di Maggio’s Shawlands is in the perfect location for a quick bite before a concert or match at Hampden Park. Book early to avoid disappointment!
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Starters, mains and dessert's were all excellent, visited with a friend and were both thoroughly impressed, tables a bit close together but staff were very friendly and service great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Di Maggio's G, Social Media Assistant at Di Maggio's - South Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Many thanks for your lovely review. It's lovely to hear that both you and your friends enjoyed your dining experience with us here at Di Maggio's and we certainly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Di Maggio's - South Side
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 185 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

We ate here early one Saturday evening and everything was generally very good, although the prices were a little high. The minestrone soup was good, hot and tasty although perhaps too much tomato for my preference. The spaghetti bolognese was good. £3.90 for a 125ml glass of red wine seemed expensive. Service was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Di Maggio's G, Social Media Assistant at Di Maggio's - South Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Neil, thank you for your review. At Di Maggio's we have a variety of menus to choose from to ensure that all there is something for all our customers taste which makes our great value 2 course menu very popular. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our food and we hope that you will return again soon to experience some of the other dishes on our extensive menu. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My other half and I visited Di Maggio's in Shawlands earlier today (02/08/12) for lunch. We both chose 2 courses for £8.95 and were impressed with the quality of the food and the portion sizes. For what we paid, the food respresented true value for money.

To start, I opted for BBQ Babyback Ribs and my other half, the Potato Skins with Cheese and Bacon. I personally enjoyed the ribs which were served with a portion of coleslaw. The potato skins were also well received by my good lady. My main course consisted of a cheese and bacon burger which was served with fries, coleslaw and what I think was Thousand Island Dressing - different but nice enough and the burger itself was well cooked and complemented by the crispy bacon and melted cheese. My other half chose the Lasagne which was a huge portion but comes on its own so it cost extra for the fries (£2.95 for a small bowl - overpriced in our opinion). Also rather expensive was a pint of draught coke (£2.95) and 2 pints of Peroni (£9.70).

In terms of the quality of service, there was one pleasant female member of staff who took our order promptly and provided me with hand wipes for the ribs - nice touch. However, the time between finishing our food and our plates being cleared as well as the wait for our starters and mains to arrive was somewhat slow and with only another table of two in the restaurant, we were glad it wasn't any busier. The only enquiry as to whether everything was ok was when we had almost finished our starters so thankfully our mains were tasty and we didn't need anything else. On the plus side, a 'doggy bag' (the Lasagne for our German Shepherd as it happens!) wasn't any trouble at all and we will visit again in the future due to the standard of the food and well-priced lunch menu. Total bill was £33.50 - inflated due to the cost of the drinks and fries.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Globetrotter1984_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Di Maggio's G, Social Media Assistant at Di Maggio's - South Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Many thanks for your recent review of our Di Maggio's Shawlands Restaurant. We're pleased to read that you enjoyed our food and we can only apologise for the slow service you received on this occasion. We can assure you that your comments have been passed onto our Head Office and Management Team in order to ensure these issues are addressed. However we're glad to read that you would still return to our restaurant and we look forward to your return visits. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

really good food and excellent kids menu well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Di Maggio's G, Social Media Assistant at Di Maggio's - South Side, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your review. Great to read that you really enjoyed our food and loved our children's menu. We do our best to accommodate all our customers and are often complimented on the wide variety of food on all our menus. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just to say thanks for a really nice lunch yesterday
It was very busy but only a couple of staff on and they coped great.
food was nice and service good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lolGlasgowScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Di Maggio's G, Social Media Assistant at Di Maggio's - South Side, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed lunch in our Shawlands restaurant. We do hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Maggio's - South Side also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Di Maggio's - South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing