We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The test is when things are not perfect”

Two Fat Ladies at the Buttery
Reserve with OpenTable
Two Fat Ladies at the Buttery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 2,428 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Anderston
Cairndow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The test is when things are not perfect”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We went for my birthday dinner to the Two Fat Ladies at the Buttery. No reflection on the size of the chefs, but a reference to Bingo call for number 88 (their original restaurant was at 88 Dunbarton Rd).

We had been once before but some years ago. Situated rather in back streets surrounded by one way systems. It was just as well we were taxiing it! A renovated building, with alcoves and wood panelling it is quite a haven. Staff managed to balance politeness but not servility perfectly. As always the test of a good restaurant (or any business for that matter) is how they handle things when it goes wrong. Most of the food was excellent (my pigeon was done to perfection and an apricot fool to die for) but Linda’s starter of stuffed ravioli was seriously undercooked. We made no complaint, but did feed that back when we were later asked whether we had enjoyed the meal. There was an apology, a glass of bubbly and they knocked off the cost from the bill, without in any way being asked. That alone will make us go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emilymor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,245
    306
    68
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Dinner with my partner. An excellent experience ... one of the best meals I've ever had! The scallops were to die for. Food and service top notch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Whilst staying in Glasgow for the Games we had the pleasure of eating at this restaurant. From the moment you walk in through the door you are made to feel welcome. Decorated with antiques and curios with lots of old china it has a very good ambiance. First class menus with plenty of choice for all and not too expensive for the high quality of the food. Every mouthful of all the three courses were stunning. We do not have a single complaint. First class staff, first class food - simply wonderful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaysabroad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Situated in Argyle Street Glasgow the the two fat ladies was difficult to distinguish as a restaurant. The outside looked like an old pub, you have to look twice to realise that you have come to a rather unique restaurant. Once you are inside it changes to an antique style, cosy atmosphere packed full of happy customers. It certainly has that wow factor!! when the food arrives it is presented well and the fillet steak we had was large and served with a peppercorn rich sauce. Quite delicious!! followed by desserts that you could not refuse i.e. the poached pear and lavender jelly ice cream was excellent.The service was helpful and very friendly overall a great evening. We will put this on our future agenda when visiting Glasgow

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Glasgow gem”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Cannot speak highly enough of this little gem. From the beautiful decor, interspersed with antiques and curios, excellent service and food. Like having an intimate meal in your own home. Wonderful !!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Fat Ladies at the Buttery also viewed

 

Been to Two Fat Ladies at the Buttery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing