We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic AGAIN! Best curry in Glasgow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashoka - Southside

Ashoka - Southside
Ranked #178 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Curry devotees have been worshipping at the temple of Ashoka since the 80s. This, the chain���s Glasgow South Side branch, was created to appease folk from south of the river who loved the brand but hated the travel. Boasting an interior with a Last Days of the Raj meets style bar look, Ashoka has the kind of atmosphere which appeals more to bhuna babes than the middle aged ���lads��� on a rampage who frequent your average curry house. The interior may be pared down but the menu is packed with Indian favourites as well as house specialities, leaving even decisive diners with a difficult decision to make.
glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic AGAIN! Best curry in Glasgow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Took my parents this time as they usually eat at Ashoka Bearsden. Raj is an absolute gem he is so helpful! everyone tried something different on the set menu an were even able to change main meals that were not on the menu!... It was my birthday and Raj and the other waiter put on a happy birthday song an gave me a chocolate cake and ice cream with a candle!...which was lovely. Treated like family even though I have only been here around four times. Amazing meal Amazing staff ,5pm deal Amazing! Will be back soon . Best curry restaurant in Glasgow by far!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    89
    21
    7
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pre theatre meal was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I were attending an evening of Indian music in Giffnock and thought that Asian food would be appropriate. Thanks to trtip Advisor we found this place. The service was excellent (perhaps checking on us too often) and very friendly. The food was very tasty, very hot on warm plates and delivered very quickly. We had the pre theatre menu, two courses, extra naan, a coffee and two drinks £24 - great deal wish it was closer to home.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelnutGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Tonight was our 3rd visit to Ashoka southside and it certainly won't be the last! We booked through 5pm and got 2 courses for £8 including rice or naan. We both had chicken pakora to start which was excellent and I followed up with a chicken tikka karahi which was fantastic. My wife had a chasni and it was also delicious.

The service we received and also the value for money were excellent. Will definitely be back for another visit. Very quickly becoming my favourite place for a curry. Although it's part of the harlequin group it really doesn't feel like a chain restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bazzah41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent service and fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Went for the 5pm.com pre-theatre. Food was superb. Immy our waiter was exceptionally helpful on advising us with the dishes and taking care of us. Had a beautiful meal and a lovely friendly atmosphere. Great value for money and would highly recommend. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I love Ashoka! The service is excellent (Raj and Shanaz, in particular), and the atmosphere is friendly and small enough for an intimate evening out. And the food? Utterly sublime! The masala mushrooms and the salmon tandoori are phenomenal. The quality is exceptional and the portion sizes are extremely generous. Raj was very happy to package up what we couldn't manage so that we could take it home. I'm already looking forward to breakfast! We'll be back. Emma & Scott, Glasgow.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashoka - Southside also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Giffnock, East Renfrewshire
 

Been to Ashoka - Southside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing