We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Night Out”
Review of Ashoka - Southside

Ashoka - Southside
Ranked #302 of 2,413 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $51
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Curry devotees have been worshipping at the temple of Ashoka since the 80s. This, the chain���s Glasgow South Side branch, was created to appease folk from south of the river who loved the brand but hated the travel. Boasting an interior with a Last Days of the Raj meets style bar look, Ashoka has the kind of atmosphere which appeals more to bhuna babes than the middle aged ���lads��� on a rampage who frequent your average curry house. The interior may be pared down but the menu is packed with Indian favourites as well as house specialities, leaving even decisive diners with a difficult decision to make.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family Night Out”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My first visit to Ashoka South Side and most definately not the last. The staff were very welcoming and the service was excellent. Our waiter RAJ was so helpful and seemed to know
the menu so well and recommended various meals when we were ordering and we were not
dissapointed. We had two vegetarian meals ordered and my daughter who is very fussy was happy with her meal. The meal with starters and wine and beers was just under £100 which for
4 people was fairly reasonable and we were surprised to know it was the same chain who owned other Ashokas we have visited as the food was so much better, full marks to the chef and all the lovely staff. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    89
    22
    8
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were served by Raj who was very knowledgable and recommended the Bombay Bakra and also the Ashoka Malwa (little hot). The two dishes were superb and will definitely be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanGTCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
“Great atmosphere, great curry!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We revisited the Ashoka Southside after a gap of three years or so. We were shown to our table by a charming waitress and made to feel very welcome. Drinks were served and Raj the waiter came to take our order. We both thought a main would be fine but Raj suggested that we shared some vegetable pakora - these were quite delicious and really sharpened our appetites - the mains arrived, served with a smile by Raj, both dishes delicious. The naan bread was cut into manageable triangles - the pilau rice was beautifully cooked. It was very busy for a Thursday evening but Raj swooped efficiently and effectively between tables always with a smile - was the meal to our liking, was everything fine? It was so good to see this lovely place full of happy customers accompanied by beautiful sita music - thank you! Maggie

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great good, great service”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Enjoyed lovely meal with girlfriend. Served by Raj who recommended fab spicy chicken wings starter followed by delicious spicy jalfrezi for main; both were from the pre-theatre menu where portion size was fantastic and price very good.
Michael southside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Turned up tonight at the Ashoka as it was a friends birthday... and I'm a big fan of Indian food and decided on somewhere different to eat!

really friendly staff, fresh food... and one of the waiters Raj recommended the spicy Jalfrezi... wow!

defo recommend this place... big thumbs up! :)

Dave A

Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ashoka - Southside also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Ashoka - Southside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing