We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ashoka - living up to the name ....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashoka - Southside

Ashoka - Southside
Ranked #182 of 2,386 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Curry devotees have been worshipping at the temple of Ashoka since the 80s. This, the chain���s Glasgow South Side branch, was created to appease folk from south of the river who loved the brand but hated the travel. Boasting an interior with a Last Days of the Raj meets style bar look, Ashoka has the kind of atmosphere which appeals more to bhuna babes than the middle aged ���lads��� on a rampage who frequent your average curry house. The interior may be pared down but the menu is packed with Indian favourites as well as house specialities, leaving even decisive diners with a difficult decision to make.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ashoka - living up to the name ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

You expect 1st class food and service with the Ashoka name and that's what you get from the Ashoka South Side. Too many carry out food from restaurants is second class but i have never been disappointed with the food and service from Raj and the rest of the staff.
douglas ...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank douglas f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    89
    21
    7
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food and excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Myself, my wife Nicola and her friend Marie who had travelled from Bristol went out for Marie's birthday, staff were very friendly and accommodated us without reservations. Ordering a mixed platter to share as a starter which was very tasty and filling. Mains arrived which we couldn't finish however they wrapped them up to take home and was more than enough for dinner next day. For drinks we accepted the Indian lager they had on tap which was nice and complemented the food very well.

All in all a friendly welcoming place to eat and also money off the bill on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, would definitely recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food but slow service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have eaten in the Ashoka Southside many times and I am always pleased with the food, the Haggis Pakora in particular being a favourite.

We decided to eat in the restaurant on Saturday night before going to the cinema. We arrived just before 7pm and where given a seat and ordered drinks and then our food. After our Starter was taken away we where asked if we wanted our main dish straight away and we said we did. We then said for around 30 minutes and I asked the waiter if our food would be ready soon as we had been waiting. Just after 8pm our main dishes where served, due to our time constraints I felt we had to rush our meal.

On a positive note the food was very good and our waiter brought us a free drink each to apologise for the delay (I couldn’t drink mine as I was driving).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMcG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday meal with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My girlfriend organised for me and another couple to go here for my birthday meal. i was not disappointed at all -- the food was great ! , the service was very friendly especially RAJ who was very good a selecting a lovely lamb dish ( bombay bakra ) for myself.
Once the meal finished they even sang happy birthday to me ( suitably embarrassed ! ) as they brought out my birthday cake !
overall i would highly recommend Ashoka a friendly , relaxed night combined with great food !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

As the title says, great starter platter which we were easily able to share between 3 of us.

Main meals were also of good quality, particularly the chicken dilruba recommended by Raj, which was very tasty!

Would definitely eat here again.

Josh M

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashoka - Southside also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Ashoka - Southside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing