We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, drink selection and atmosphere.”
Review of Babbity Bowster

Babbity Bowster
Ranked #453 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, drink selection and atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Spent a great night in here sampling various beers on tap plus the steak pie which was on as a special.The place was jumping and a great time was had by five of us. Right in the heart of the merchant city and well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Househillwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    62
    12
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beer Very Expensive”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We popped into the bar for a nightcap having eaten nearby.
My husband had a pint of Peroni which cost £5.00! A 175ml glass of Merlot was £5.25, which again was a tad of the expensive side.
However, to pay that much for a pint of Peroni is ridiculous!
We'll have our nightcap elsewhere in future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pommyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“top tatties”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have been here on several ocassions and normally add to the list of things to do when entertaining visitors as this pub offers reasonably priced and very tasty Scottish fare.

Always clean and tidy, the landlady is always very attentive as are the other bar staff, the place is comfortable and welcoming and will have a roaring fire during the colder months!!

I agree with other reviewers in that there is an excellent choice of beers and the clootie dumpling is also worth a go if you have a very sweet tooth!

Excellent, city centre pub with very reasonable priced Scottish food, enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsbels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great fun and good food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I found this pub through TripAdvisor. This pub lived up to the hype. We don't care for Scottish fare, so we ordered Escallope of Chicken, the daily special. It was delicious. The wait staff (one woman waiting the entire place) was great, efficient, and very pleasant. The pub was also lively with very happy noise. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good time and good food that is reasonably priced. A reservation wouldn't hurt. We were there early (6:00-ish) on a Friday night and the pub was already nearly full.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcnicolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“I left my heart in...”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

When the book of gastro pubs is written properly, then this place deserves a mention - beer, whisky and wine are all treated with respect and the Cullen Skink [soup of the gods] is a firm favourite. The owner is a regular feature and he (appears to) select staff with care as they are bright, helpful and thorough...moving this whole place to Shaw would be bad for my liver and my pocket.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank shawbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babbity Bowster also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Babbity Bowster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing