We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sister's Wedding 7th June”
Review of Orchard Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orchard Park Hotel
Ranked #63 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Would just like to thank Haley and her girls for making my sister and John's day one to remember. The O.P. is a perfect place for any intimate gathering, beautifully decorated, light and airy for a small venue with outside space. The food is simple but tastes wonderful. We all had a great day and will no doubt be back soon.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank furry46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Orchard Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 139 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a small family wedding (40) at the Orchard Park yesterday. We cannot praise the staff enough. Haley and the girls were fabulous, the wedding was done exactly as we wanted it. The food was fabulous the drinks flowed the service was excellent. The staff were attentive and not intrusive, brilliant with the children. If you are looking for a small intimate venue that wont cost the earth but still looks good this is the perfect choice. The decor was gorgeous they had just finished the refurbishment so everything was fresh and new. All the family loved it. Thanks Haley you did a brilliant job. Cant wait to see all our photos. Thanks for making our day so special. Elaine and John.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmcguiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We chose the OP as it was local for our needs. The staff were superb and made myself and 3 friends feel so at home. We had a few requests and every one was met with no trouble and a smile immediately. Rooms were immaculate and kept to a very high standard, with domestic staff more than happy to wait and fit around our times. Breakfast was delicious with friendly helpful staff who were very accommodating. The bar was fantastic and lively with a great bunch of bar and restaurant staff who neither rushed or left you waiting. Food was freshly made and beautifully presented and menu had lots of choice. The decor and atmosphere overall was second to none and I can't emphasise enough how great the OP was. I will most certainly be booking again and can highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

popped up to the Orchard Park hotel last Friday and got a nice surprise !
The bar and function room has just been totally renovated. They have made some really nice changes to the look of the place. I cant see how anyone could have a go at this place. Food is great and well priced, good drinks and atmosphere really does make it. All in all, a really good local that we are lucky to have !!!!!!!!
Oh, and the guys that own it are locals who actually care about their business and customers !! not many of them around !!!
Cheers
Craig from Newlands

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedAdair037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have been to this local bar many times in the last few years for lunch and dinner and have usually been fairly happy with the service. The last two times I have attended I have been unhappy with the service and I will not be returning. I was served by a boy at the bar who took my lunch order (which I had to repeat as he was not paying attention). I was then asked for proof of age to buy a soft drink at 2.30pm, and told that I looked too young to be 23. For a minute I thought they had put the age up to 25 and then emphasised that I was buying a non-alcoholic drink and that it was 2.30pm. I eventually got the food and drink but was left embarassed by the situation and will be taking my business else where.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We enjoyed two nights at the Orchard Park last weekend. Staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and fresh [apart from orange juice and luke warm coffee] and staff listened to requests accurately. They showed a genuine interest in our visit and plans. Our room was spacious [twin-bedded] which they switched us to after I wasn't too keen to be squashed into a small double bed. We had a seating area and comfortable leather settee. The bathroom was tiny however and the beds quite uncomfortable. The manager mentioned that our room would be noisy as it was over the bar, but this didn't prove to be much of a problem, in fact. The rooms were well appointed and fresh, with plenty of tea, coffee, milk etc. We would definitely stay here again, and just hope they have changed the mattresses by then!

Room Tip: Room 8 over bar
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrybumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My family booked the newly refurbished function room on the ground floor for a celebration meal for over 20 of us. We had to wait for 1 hour and 3 minutes in order to get our food. We had a lot of children there and we asked several times when the food would be ready but were told on more than one occasion that it would only be '5 minutes'!!!!! Not only that, during our celebrations, 2 workmen stood at the window and kept looking in for 10 minutes. They then came into the function room and starting looking around the floor for another 10 minutes. No explanation was given whatsoever as to who they were, why they were there, etc. It was extremely disconcerting as we had children as young as 1 running around.

When we complained about the above, we were told by the manager 'YOU DID NOT WAIT FOR AN HOUR FOR FOOD', oh yes we did. The manager was nowhere to be seen throughout the waiting period. Regarding the workmen disturbing our celebrations ... he simply stated 'I TOLD THEM TO TELL YOU WHY THEY WERE THERE'!!!!!!!! What manager allows workmen not only to enter a private function when it is ongoing never mind asks them to explain to the party what they were doing????? If that is 25 years experience of family run hotelling then you should be ashamed of yourselves. We will ensure that none of our friends or family will booked with you as it really did put a dampner on the whole celebrations.

I feel truly sorry for the bar staff and kitchen staff who have to deal with such incompetent managers as it is them that truly face the brunt of the customers on the day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DMLM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glasgow
Redhurst Hotel
#52 of 93 in Glasgow
264 reviews
Number 10 Hotel
#26 of 93 in Glasgow
773 reviews
Kings Park Hotel
#84 of 93 in Glasgow
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belhaven Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
435 reviews
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
699 reviews
City Centre
Cathedral House Hotel
Cathedral House Hotel
#79 of 93 in Glasgow
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Park Hotel

Address: 2 Park Road | Giffnock, Glasgow G46 7LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $91 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchard Park Hotel Bar & Grill is a small independent family run business in Giffnock, Glasgow.We aim to offer you comfortable surroundings, great food and excellent service to make your stay truly enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Orchard Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Park Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing