We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'must visit' if you like Indian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charcoals

Charcoals
Reserve with OpenTable
Charcoals is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Centre
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A 'must visit' if you like Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

My sister and cousin both wanted somewhere that served Indian food and I heard this place had a really good reputation so we came here. The staff treat you so well you feel like a princess. They loved it and vowed to come back. I don't even like Indian food but this place served me well. Very reasonably priced too. The staff were very proud to point out famous athletes who had visited during the Commonwealth Games. We had a lovely time and when we left there were queues of people waiting to get in outside. Very popular and deservedly so.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1967Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,755
    400
    119
    47
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Best ever food in an Indian restaurant. Quick and friendly customer service. Food of a high quality and served hot. Pre-theatre menu is excellent value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neni83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Booked based on trip advisor reviews
The reviews tell the truth - a great meal served with charm and friendliness
The food was exquisite - a great night
Three courses and a complimentary starter and a vodka jelly to round the night off
Thanks to Ali and the rest of the team

Helpful?
Thank Garry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

As we arrived, we were greeted as soon as we entered. The staff quickly showed us to our table. The staff did all that they could to ensure that we were comfortable upon arriving, e.g. water on the table and small appetisers.
The menu offered a good choice of dishes. It would be nice if they offered more in the future possibly, but don't let that put you off. The chefs have clearly presented dishes that ensure that you experience the full flavour of Indian cooking.
All of us ordered different dishes, and each one was as good as the other. No one at our table could fault anything. As a lover of spicy food, I made a joke to one of the staff members that they could have made it hotter for me. Moments later, another bowl of curry was presented to the table. As the staff member walked away laughing, we could see this new dish was filled with chilli - "Challenge accepted".
After finishing my punishment from the chefs, I complimented the staff on the dish. Even with a dish that intense, the chefs still managed to create a tasty curry. They talked to us about why they don't usually put out dishes this hot, explaining about how it's so important to taste the unique spices to each dish.
We certainly didn't expect the staff to be so passionate about their dishes, but it was a very welcome and refreshing change!
All of us will certainly be returning in the near future!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Dropped into Charcoals on Friday evening, we had no booking but we were found a table after a short wait. Quickly presented with drinks and menus and lovely crisp poppadoms. Finally decided on lamb chops which were delivered on a sizzling platter accompanied by a rich tangy sauce. The food and service was excellent at a very reasonable cost. Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoals also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Charcoals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing