We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meals” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charcoals

Charcoals
Reserve with OpenTable
Charcoals is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Centre
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Great quality food with decent prices and enthusiastic staff. The lunch deal is great even on a student budget.

Helpful?
Thank DerVerrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,755
    400
    119
    47
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfectly acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We ate there recently. Staff were very attentive. The food was nice enough and they kept bringing us things to try, on the house. The main course portion size was much too much for one person (chicken byriani) so if you go, order less than you think you might need. I can't say anything negative but I wouldn't go out of my way to return there, especially when there is so much choice in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 421MaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I know i have reviewed this restaurant a few times,however it stiil remains to be the best place for Indian food I have ever visited. The service is also first class and you are treated like a friend and never rushed. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jima578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great night in Glasgow with my 2 of my sons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Probably the best Indian I've been in, great food, excellent portions...And the friendliest staff I've come across. Can’t wait to go back again ....Keep up the OUTSTANDING service 

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GerryBhoyGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We live in N.Ireland but this is our favourite Restaurant !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We come to Glasgow every 6 months or so from N.Ireland and every time we stay we end up coming back to Charcoals to the point that we spend more time here than any restaurant in N.Ireland - which says it all I suppose. We ate on a Saturday lunchtime in October before a concert that night and had the Lunch Menu - outstanding fresh Indian food again that is difficult to fault. Staff professional and friendly and recognised us from 6 mths ago ! Ignore the somewhat humble street frontage and erm .... toilets etc and focus on great Indian food and you wont be disappointed !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ironpoker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoals also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Charcoals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing