We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the new charcoal restaurant”
Review of Charcoals

Charcoals
Reserve with OpenTable
Charcoals is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 2,413 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the new charcoal restaurant”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stumbled across the new charcoal restaurant in Argyll street yesterday while looking for a Currie after returning from holiday abroad and being. Currie-less for some weeks. The restaurant has only been open for six weeks but the chef is obviously doing a fine job as the food we received was excellent. It was also very good value for money.
The restaurant is presently a byob, which isn't a problem as there are a number of offsales nearby. They are also hoping to receive an alcohol license in the near future.
If the standard of service and cooking we received continues then I am sure the restaurant will be a great success

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alasdair m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,830
    411
    125
    50
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Having read reviews on this website and bearing in mind its location(5 mins walk from our hotel) this seemed to be the best fit for a meal on our first of 2 nights in Glasgow. It was reasonably busy for a sunday night but not too busy and we did not have to book. The service was excellent and we were regularly attended to by very polite waiters. The food was amazing from starter through to main course but we were very impressed by some small complimentary dishes we were given to try. Beautiful food, presentation and we were shocked to see how little it came to when we got the bill. If you are in Glasgow and wondering where to go, then this is the place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Couldn't ask for a better birthday!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Went to charcoals on Sunday for my 30th birthday meal. From start 2 finish it was amazing couldn't wish for a better night. The guys put balloons & banner up (so thoughtful,) the food is out of this world. Extra wee treats at the table (try the special nan, wow!) & the embarrassing happy birthday sing-a-long from all the staff & also the customers from the other tables haha it did make me chuckle. Ice cream sundae with a candle on top was the icing on the cake as you would say. To all of the staff at charcoals thank you again, you's all made my night very memorable. & to all the readers you will not be disappointed the food, staff & atmosphere fantastically amazing!!!

Helpful?
Thank Myoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“The reviews say it all”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I'm only writing this review having several happy visits as I told our host Abdullah I wanted to give them credit for another great meal. At the time of writing they had 888 excellent reviews. What can I say? Really friendly staff, great food, great location and it's a pleasure to eat in their restaurant. We had poppadoms and pickles and fish pakora to start. Half way through they brought an extra poppadom and some special dip on the house. It was delicious. My wife had fish masala and I had chilli garlic lamb. Both were full of flavour. Abdullah made our spontaneous Tues evening dinner out into a really enjoyable evening. It's great value for money and we left happy to have given them our custom.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 94009007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a fabulous meal!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We turned up at Charcoals with no booking on a Saturday evening and they were very busy, but suggested that we went for a drink in a nearby pub and came back in 15 minutes. We duly did that and were seated and were looked after really well.
Even though there were about 15 men on the next table singing and have a good time, the atmosphere was great.
I had the signature Charcoals chicken tikka dish and can honestly say it was out of this world. Diferent styles of tikka were cooked to perfection and so tasty.
Highly recommend you try this dish! I thought how interesting could they make chicken tikka, but I was very wrong.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nelleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoals also viewed

 

Been to Charcoals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing