We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”
Review of Charcoals

Charcoals
Reserve with OpenTable
Charcoals is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 2,413 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
2 reviews
“Expensive”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We went to the restaurant as it was recommend by one of my friend but when we went in we had to wait before being seated and when the drinks came the glass was dirty but the drink was good.
The price of the food is expensive and it was very hot inside. But the food was good not excellent.
Could improve on the quality of food. Will go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,830
    411
    125
    50
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Went back to Charcoals as we'd had such a great meal on our previous visit to Glasgow 9 months before. A great reception was extended to us by Ali, who met us at the door and said 'it's been a while since you were last here!!' To be recognised after one visit so long ago really sums up the high standard of customer service you get at Charcoals. Once again the food was exceptional, attentive waiting staff look after you very well and a great buzz in the restaurant makes this such a special place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJG1271690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“family dinner”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I thought this place would be excellent since i had heard good things about it...unfortunately the chicken i ordered was completely overcooked and hard...restaurants normally ask how the food is but we were never asked so didnt get a chance to say because the waitor was rushing around...it was busy. a bit dark in the restaurant too but overall it was a good dinner

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Curry with style!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I visited Charcoals tonight with 4 of my nieces and nephews. While they are all from Glasgow, I am Australian. What a terrific night! The food was delicious - we had a selection of pakoras, papadams, onions, chic peas and the maitre d, Ali, even gave us some special papadams and starters just to try. The curries themselves were freshly cooked, extremely tasty and with enough bite to have great flavor without being too hot. My nieces also had peshwari naan and they both said it was to die for.... the best peshwari they had ever tasted. To cap off the whole experience, Ali even took a photograph of our group and then presented it to us in a frame for me to take back to Australia. This restaurant is very close to Central Station and is well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chris.T”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Yes there are the same old suspects on the menu but there are also many dishes I had not seen before. Our group had a good selection and I could no fault any, even if I wanted too. Ali and his team work hard and the results reflect it. How do they produce such great food in such a small kitchen ??? Only downside, which is far outweighed by the great food, is that drinks are on the pricey side.
We will definitely go again next time we are in Glasgow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CGT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoals also viewed

 

Been to Charcoals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing