We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly fabulous restaurant”
Review of Charcoals

Charcoals
Reserve with OpenTable
Charcoals is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly fabulous restaurant”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Spent the weekend in glasgow on a stag do. Saturday night was curry night, expected average, got something very different

The service was friendly and attentive, the food plentiful and of an excellent standard. Anything off the grill was particularly good

Prices were sensible, overall excellent. Only note of caution is to a slightly woosey southern pallet medium curry was very hot, and the chillies on the garlic naan were a hot surprise..... That said they will make currys to any temperature so next time will bear in mind!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,868
    418
    127
    50
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Just excellent!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Fabulous service. Excellent food - fresh & full of flavour. Friendly and intimate. It's whatever you wish it to be! But, overall, the food & service says it all!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vallavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Super Place”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Well this was a first trip to Glasgow and not really knowing where to go for a good curry.... what a little gem we have found here. The waiting staff a real credit to this place and the chefs in the kitchen are also a real credit to the restaurant as the food has the most authentic taste. We will go back the next time we visit Glasgow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathrine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably the best service I've ever had”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Probably the best service I've ever had. With wee treats for the kids,photos of the family plus the bonus of absolutely delicious Indian food, what more could you ask for. Already planning our next visit. Thanks to Ali, the manager for making up feel so welcome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcmullenClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First visit, won't be our last!!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I took my girlfriend to charcoals for her 21st birthday and the staff were amazing!! Everything I asked for the staff done even arriving early to ensure flowers and presents were delivered!!! The food itself was the most authentic Indian food I have tasted!!! From the outside this doesn't look too much but overall it is the beat Indian resteraunt in Glasgow!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoals also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Charcoals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing