We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.”
Review of Number 16

Number 16
Reserve with OpenTable
Number 16 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Award- winning restaurant in the heart of Glasgow's West End. Number 16 is a cosy, well established and much loved neighbourhood favourite offering quality food, friendly service and great value in relaxed surroundings. Run by a tight- knit, experienced and dedicated team; Number 16 is proud to bring fresh and unusual ideas to modern Scottish cooking. Our ever- changing menu features imaginative, balanced flavours; strong international influences and a commitment to using seasonal produce. We strive to make each dining experience a relaxing, unique and memorable one for every customer. In 2010, Number 16 was awarded an Eat Scotland Silver Award and won best restaurant in the 'Smart But Casual' category at the annual Glasgow Restaurant Awards.In December 2011 Number 16 was awarded an AA Rosette.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Once again superb, food and service right at the top, a real gem in Glasgow that consistently hits a high standard.
Having eaten in some of the more "expensive" restaurants I always find myself returning here, I know what I'm getting each and every time without risk of disapointment.. great food with a twist served by a warm and friendly staff.

The menu is just that little bit different, coupling great produce with superb preparation, served by people who genuinely seem happy to see you.

I really shouldn't be on here telling all how great this place is, its hard enough to get a table but this place deserves the praise.

IF YOU'VE NOT TRIED IT, YOUR MISSING OUT.

Book and enjoy.
Gary N.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank srrvicepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,343
    239
    58
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely dinner for two, fantastic cooking and great service. Lovely as a dinner for two. A special occasion!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicki87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Number 16 - a real find”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

You need to book early for this restaurant. It may look unassuming and small but the food is great, the wine list compliments the food and the staff are friendly and unobtrusive.

Food is locally sourced, inspired by flavours from around the world, beautifully flavoured and cooked to perfection.

We will visit again when next in Glasgow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imageimation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous lunch in the Westend!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Fab-u-lous 2 course lunch (3 course option available also). Fantastic diverse menu using the best fresh ingredients. Simply sublime, I strongly recommend you give this 'wee gem' a try. Put it this way, we were so impressed that we are returning with friends soon for a Saturday night!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McCannGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food, great service”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

First time to this restaurant and won't be the last. Food is superb as is the staff and decor of the premises. Recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank andylee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 16 also viewed

 

Been to Number 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing