We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 16

Number 16
Reserve with OpenTable
Number 16 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Award- winning restaurant in the heart of Glasgow's West End. Number 16 is a cosy, well established and much loved neighbourhood favourite offering quality food, friendly service and great value in relaxed surroundings. Run by a tight- knit, experienced and dedicated team; Number 16 is proud to bring fresh and unusual ideas to modern Scottish cooking. Our ever- changing menu features imaginative, balanced flavours; strong international influences and a commitment to using seasonal produce. We strive to make each dining experience a relaxing, unique and memorable one for every customer. In 2010, Number 16 was awarded an Eat Scotland Silver Award and won best restaurant in the 'Smart But Casual' category at the annual Glasgow Restaurant Awards.In December 2011 Number 16 was awarded an AA Rosette.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Perfect restaurant for an informal meal or a celebration. Gorgeous food in a friendly atmosphere and value for money.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,252
    228
    54
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best place in Glasgow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Been going here for years and just can't fault it. The prices for the set menus at lunchtime and pre-theatre are so cheap and you get a fantastically original menu for that price. Excellent wine list, dreamy puddings and first-class service. Hard to drag ourselves to try anywhere else.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MadameRenard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“You wouldn't know it was a bistro!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I went to No.16 for a wee reunion with friends and I have to say I actually walked past the door, you just wouldn't know it was there!

The table we had was under the stairs and unfortunately a friend banged her head, the waiter laughed!

We had the set lunch menu which is fantastic value for money. If I remember correctly something like £15 for 2 courses and a glass of vino. I don't drink wine and they were very happy to swap for a bottle of lager.

We were offered gorg bread rolls with an olive oil/balsamic vinegar dip and no sooner had 1 friend finished her starter then the mains were brought to our table - very quick! I had the chicken pie which was scrummy and the lemon and coconut cheese cake with lemon sorbet - it was light and delicious ... although I did have to ask if we could have a bit of a wait time between main and pud ... there was just enough - not too full but not hungry either.

What I didn't know is that we were on a time frame ... again I think it was hour and half (I may be wrong) so no longer had you finished a drink and your food you were expected to vacate for the next sitting ... a little disappointing as I would of loved to stay and chat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 5pud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Fancied a nice luch on Saturday with my husband and my father-in-law and found this little gem of a place.
Very cosy, the staff are friendly (always nice to see a smile) and the food was amazing.
Cant wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DONNA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Enjoyed a 3 course meal and great coffee last weekend. No reservation (incredibly lucky to get table)but good naturedly found us a table. small place and very busy which goes to show it's doing something right. I had slow cooked lamd to start which was a substantial dish follwed by delicious coley in a creamy sauce with mustardy mash. It was great food with delightful tastes. I honestly don't know how I squeezed the lemon and coconut tart in, or the wonderful dessert wine. Hubby had amazing pan seared venison as his main dish which was bloody and brilliant. Can't wait to go back. I should add that our waiter was a gem, helpful and very funny and very hard working as not a huge number of staff. Thanks to the team there

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gailcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 16 also viewed

 

Been to Number 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing