We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 16

Number 16
Reserve with OpenTable
Number 16 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Award- winning restaurant in the heart of Glasgow's West End. Number 16 is a cosy, well established and much loved neighbourhood favourite offering quality food, friendly service and great value in relaxed surroundings. Run by a tight- knit, experienced and dedicated team; Number 16 is proud to bring fresh and unusual ideas to modern Scottish cooking. Our ever- changing menu features imaginative, balanced flavours; strong international influences and a commitment to using seasonal produce. We strive to make each dining experience a relaxing, unique and memorable one for every customer. In 2010, Number 16 was awarded an Eat Scotland Silver Award and won best restaurant in the 'Smart But Casual' category at the annual Glasgow Restaurant Awards.In December 2011 Number 16 was awarded an AA Rosette.
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The food in number 16 was very good, house wine very palatable.The a la carte menu has so many tempting dishes it was difficult to choose. The service was also very good and we will certainly be back to try the pre theatre menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank winnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,252
    228
    54
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“simple but quality service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

ambiance is good for informal dining. good value although tables tightly packed although only 30 odd covers

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank icecoldinalex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Fabulous little restaurant in the West End!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I went to the West End with three firends last week and was seriously impressed, the food, wine, service and ambience were all amazing and I will certainly be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleUrchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Four of us had a delicious lunch here, first class food and service and excellent value for money.
The friendly waitress made us feel comfortable and relaxed and looked after us very well. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mungo1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Were we unlucky?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

To celebrate our wedding anniversary we booked Number 16 after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. The lady who took my call said she would recommend a table upstairs and all seemed fine. On arrival downstairs was full and we were shown upstairs which was empty, we soon found out why. A window was open and creating a cold draught. We were left for about ten minutes and when the waitress did appear I mentioned the draught. She said it took two people to close it and she was working on her own as a staff member was ill and the "boss" was on holiday. I offered to help at which she changed her story and offered us a table downstairs when one became free. After about twenty minutes we got a table and shortly afterwards, finally, a drink. The starters followed about ten minutes after that. They were ok but nothing wonderful. I ordered Pork Belly for mains. Awful. Chewy pork totally overpowered by a strong sauce, I ate about 2/3rds because I was hungry. I did not complain as I had given up by then, and decided we were just unlucky judging by the other reviews. However I would not go back as there is too much choice in Glasgow to take another chance. The waitress was doing her best but I do not understand why she had to work alone and why a window can not be closed before they open.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wysiwyg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 16 also viewed

 

Been to Number 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing