We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QueensPark hotel night spent at St Enoch...”
Review of St. Enoch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Enoch Hotel
Ranked #93 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I wrote a review about Queens Park hotel and how our first night in Glasgow became a nightmare. We had a two night reservation in Queens Park hotel, but my bank card has mysteriously been refused by the banking company the same day of our arrival (booking and deposit paid more than a month ago ftw). Late at night, after almost an hour of despair, we were told to take a taxi and a bed in a female dorm was booked for me and for my mum and brother a double private room. This hotel was actually okei, I shared the room with two other girls and the bathroom was not really clean but it was okei. In the double room, the bathroom was dirty, but nothing bad. The breakfast (milk, cereal and juice) is waiting for you behind the door at morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piparianais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for St. Enoch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 387 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Didn't know what to expect really when booked in for the weekend in Glasgow. Would have been better off sleeping on the streets rathger than in this place. Turnes out though that this place was used as mergency accomodation by Glasgow District Council for homeless people. (And it shows).

The first night my wife and I sat in the Square just trying to work out what to do (continue staying in this dump or try and find an alternative) we were approched by a very drunk person who tried to bum ciggarets and money from us.

He made us laugh and we got talking and thanks to him, we found out about the seedier side to the St. Enoch Hotel and its sister hotel the Queens park.

Both were (are) used by Lanarkshire & Glasgow district council to house anti-social homeless people but as there are less and less people getting sent by the Glasgow Council, the hotel owners fleece inocent tourists into staying there.

The [place is disgusting, the rooms stink and the matress, well, we never slept in the bed as it was disgusting...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goose121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Didn't actually book to stay here but after being shafted by the 'sister hotel' had little choice but to take a room on the night of the Robbie Williams concert at Hampden Park.
For a trip to Glasgow it is actually an excellent location around the corner from Central Station and right on the doorstep of Glasgow's great shops in the city centre.
However, once inside things go rapidly downhill.
Hostels and bunkhouses are great for people travelling on a budget but £95 for a room for 2 adults and 2 children is hardly cheap.
This place is really neither a hostel (not self-catering) or a hotel.
We didn't get 'proper' beds but 3 sets of bunkbeds - kids went on top & mums below. Ensuite shower room was tricky to get into as one of the bunks was inches from the door - one look at the shower and we were all glad we had already had one before leaving home and could definitely wait until we got home to have another. Passed on having a cup of tea/coffee in the lovely chipped and stained mugs and the polystyrene cup stuffed with stale teabags wasn't at all tempting. And none of us fancied walking barefoot on the carpet.
The flatscreen TV and wifi were good.
The final laugh in the morning was the 'breakfast pack' left on the floor outside our room - a paper bag containing an individual rice krispies pack with a paper bowl, carton of milk & orange juice. We left them there and headed round the corner to Wetherspoons for breakfast and a spot of shopping in Glasgow before catching our train home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I don't even know where to start with this place!
Myself and two friends had went up to Glasgow for a night out as we don't get to spend very much time together anymore. After reading reviews about this place we had some concerns as to whether it was actually a hostel or not, so I called up to double check that we had a private room and an en-suite bathroom - which we did so we decided to carry on with our planned trip.
First impressions were ok, the man behind the desk was polite and gave us our keys. We then had to walk up about a thousand stairs to the top floor where our room was.
When we got to our room we were disappointed to say the least, two bunk beds with old faded bedcovers, not to mention a brown stain on the quilt... white paint down the side of the brown wardrobe, damp patches on the ceiling, grubby old carpet, old woodchip wallpaper which had several tatty bits and then the bathroom which was just horrendous. It was quite a small dingy room with no chairs or sideboards/tables and no tea or coffee making facilities.
A quick turnabout back to reception to get a refund then off to jurys inn just around the corner. We were paying fifty-nine pound for this room but when we went to jurys in it was only six pound more for a family bedroom which was a thousand times nicer!!
best advice i could give is save yourself the hassle and don't go here!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mclaffz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

After booking to stay at the Queenspark hotel back in january for last night's Bonjovi gig we received an email saying due to maintenance. Issues we have had to transfer you to our sister hotel. We had only paid £65 for our room so we weren't expecting the ritz, but we never expected this filthy carpet, disgusting shower absolutely manky windows sill unlevel room bed at an angle. One good thing guy on reception was a very pleasant. My advise you'd be better of staying in a bus shelter.

Room Tip: Stay clear,
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Footballfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

we stayed here for one night after being shafted by the sister hotel Queens Park, Hampden. the room had 3 sets of bunk beds which were clean. However bathroom certainly wasn't. there was still rubbish in the bin and on the floor and mold all around the shower. Made sure kept shoes by the bed as didn't want to stand on the carpet!
Wouldn't put it on my wish list!

Room Tip: dont bother
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank colette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Location is very good. Staff was friendly during our check-in. However, the man at the reception during the day is not very helpful (forgot his name though). Asked him for directions once, but he didn't really care to explain it properly.

Our room was awful. Knowing that it was very cheap we did not expect any luxury. The bunk beds were fine, and we had a tv and our own bathroom. However, the cleanliness was just catastrophic! I know it is a budget hotel, but come on, at least clean the bathroom before you let new guests into the room! The sink was full of stains and the shower had hair and all kinds of stuff blocking the drain. I wanted to personally complain the morning after we arrived, however the guy at the reception looked so unwelcoming and frustrated I did not dare to talk to him.

This hotel (or whatever it is) is a disaster! It is not worth the money, no matter how cheap it is. You could stay at MUCH better places with the same money. Do NOT go here! The accommodation made our stay in Glasgow terrible and we were so disappointed. We checked out a night earlier than expected and stayed at the airport for our last night, that's how terrible it was. We felt more comfortable sleeping at the airport and washing our faces there, knowing that there are cleaning ladies every other hour checking the bathrooms.

Room Tip: Do not even consider staying here!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louissepaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Smiths Hotel
#89 of 93 in Glasgow
421 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
1,855 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#69 of 93 in Glasgow
312 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Enoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Enoch Hotel

Address: St. Enoch Square 44 Howard Street, Glasgow G1 4EE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $20 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — St. Enoch Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your St. Enoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Enoch Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing