We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious!”
Review of Gandolfi Fish

Gandolfi Fish
Ranked #113 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Centre
Transit: 5 minute walk from High street train station. Argyle street is one of Glasgow's main thoroughfares and the restaurant is a 2 minute walk up Albion street. As Argyle street is a main road it is very well served by numerous busses. St Enochs underground station is 15 minute walk away and Argyle street train station is 10 minutes away.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“delicious!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great food, good service. Should definately try the Langoustines with garlic butter (something inbetween praws and lobster, scottish specialty) simply fantastic!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anna-bootje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    172
    43
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good but not Gamba!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Visited with friends for the pretheatre after hearing great things about this place. We had a large table for three of us with lots of room so felt very comfortable and relaxed.Food was very good - makerel pate for me (very good but couldn't help compare it to the better version at Gamba) followed by a simple seabass with a rather excellent sauce. My companions raved about their fish pie though didn't comment on their very traditional looking prawn cocktail starters. In retrospect, I wish I'd chosen the panacotta for dessert instead of the baked alaska whch was on the small side.

We chose one of the cheaper bottles of white wine at £25 which was very enjoyable. Service was relaxed and pleasant. Nice surroundings (though I really disliked the cheap paper serviettes!) but I can think of quite a few other fish restaurants in Glasgow that are better for the same price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorsyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We ate at Gandolfi's Fish restaurant early, prior to an evening at the Clyde Auditorium. Really Enjoyed their monkfish and prawn scampi and smoked fish with poached egg.

The restaurant is very welcoming and very busy which says it all. There were many people walking in on the off chance of getting a table for dinner but were turned away as they had no reservation. We were so glad we had booked and we will certainly return again. Excellent value for money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lochyriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I hadn't been to GF for a while and don't know why! Fabulous prawn tempura and monkfish curry, delicious! Service was attentive and friendly. Great atmosphere. I won't be leaving it long to return to this amazing restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I would recommend the set menu - only 3 or 4 choices per course but great value for money and excellent way to try out Gandolfi Fish.


Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandolfi Fish also viewed

 

Been to Gandolfi Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing