We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We have rented 20 or more vacation apartments...”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Barony High

LIVING ROOM
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LIVING ROOM
LIVING ROOM LIVING ROOM
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
LIVING ROOM
LIVING ROOM
LIVING ROOM
LIVING ROOM
KITCHEN
KITCHEN
OTHERS
BEDROOM
BEDROOM
BATHROOM
BATHROOM
BEDROOM
FRONT
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Glasgow, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Burke F
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We have rented 20 or more vacation apartments over the years, and Barony High was far and away the best.”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This place was nearly perfect for two couples--comfortable beds and bathrooms, good location, very well equipped, and a marvelous owner. The delightful Moira was responsive to all of our requests. You absolutely cannot go wrong with this apartment.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Comfort, space, and service
Liked least: We had to walk a block to the car park. What a hardship!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at our Barony High apartment. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot246
Barrie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location and wonderful flat!”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here with three adults and two young children. It was our first trip back to Scotland after emigrating and the first visit for our children. Moira was very patient, kind, and reassuring as we were anxious about the logistics of traveling with two young children. Our flight even arrived a couple hours late and she still met us at the flat to welcome us and make certain we settled in.

The flat was spotless, comfortable, and had everything we needed for our two week stay. We never heard any neighbours and only heard noises outside on a Saturday night as people made their way home from a night out. Even this wasn't an issue. The location was perfect! The High Street station was just across the road with frequent trains to Edinburgh for day trips. It was a short walk through the Merchant City to the city centre. The Merchant City Fish & Chip Shop was excellent. There is an Aldi's literally across the street for shopping and a Tesco, Sainsbury's, and Co-op express shops all within a 5 minute walk. The Babbity Bowster pub on Blackfriar has live folk music being played on a late Saturday afternoon with good food. We never ran out things to do and the flat was our Home away from Home. We will absolutely book here again for our next trip and recommend it highly. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed booking with Moira.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2015
Thank you for the lovely review I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to meet you again when you're back visiting Glasgow. I can certainly agree with your views on Babbity's and the Merchant Chippie both good places to eat and handy for the apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andronica
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Why would you book a hotel?!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Beautiful property, spotlessly clean , spacious and in a great location as well! Seriously for the price of a good hotel there's no comparison.
Nothing more to say, perfect. Thanks Moira you're a gem.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole restful stress free experience
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2015
Thanks Andy, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I agree but then I'm a bit biased. :) Hope to welcome you back to our Barony Apartments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location- really suited the reason for our stay in Glasgow.
Liked least: One member of our group slept in the lounge and the street was noisey
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth, Australia
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it lived up to expectations
Liked least: Nothing, except that I couldn't stay longer!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
raelee34
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Spotless, Convenient”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Barony High apartment was a wonderful place to stay in Glasgow with myself, my husband and our two teenage boys. The location so close to George Square and Buchanan and Queen Street stations made getting anywhere in the city very easy.

Our teenagers loved the convenience of the fish and chips shop across the street for late night food runs, while I loved that Aldi's and Tesco Express were very close for any grocery needs.

Moira was incredibly easy to deal with and very responsive to any questions or requests. If we were to visit Glasgow again, which I hope we will, we would be disappointed to stay anywhere other than Barony High.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Amenities, Cleanliness
Liked least: Not a darn thing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2014
Thank you for the great review. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and found the apartment and its location convenient for your travels. Yes, it is a great wee fish and chip shop. We've used it ourselves of occasion :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing