We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice food but little meat”
Review of Shimla Pinks - CLOSED

Shimla Pinks
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great service, nice food but little meat”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went here on a Groupon deal which was a great deal. 2 curries, wine and rice for £12. Unlike some venues the meal was from the same menu and the portion sizes looked the same. We had some extras pakora to start and garlic nan. The meal was nice- mushroom pakora and mixed pakora could have been a few bits more for the price and husband commented that the chicken pakora didn't taste fresh. Mains vegetable Dansak for me was spot on but again husband was dissapointed with his red fort delicacy lamb. Rice was a good portion but the main meal was all sauce and little lamb. On summary nice atmosphere, nice decor , great staff, good food only let down by the mean meat. The garlic nan was the highlight soft , fresh , good sized and tasty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowWinenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    58
    33
    25
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“First time visit”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I recently visited Shimla Pinks for the first time and I really enjoyed it. The restaurant itself is very nice and presentable and the staff were nice and relaxed and were very friendly. The good was also excellent, my partner and I really enjoyed the quality of food at such a great price.
We will definitely be visiting Shimla Pinks again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leann2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Condorrat shimla pinks”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited with family , 7 of us, for my husbands birthday. first time although my son has been several times and recommended it. very modern decor. we had a drink in bar while waiting for rest of party. Although a cold night, snow, the restaurant was warm. Bit quiet but probably due to Champ.Leag.football and next day Valentines. Staff were very helpful and friendly, happy to advise on types of food etc. buffet was fab, biggest choice I have ever had, Indian, Chinese,Italian etc Cold and hot starters. main courses about 12 options including vegetarian . The desserts would not be out of place on an al a carte menu. Cost £12.95 for buffet. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaris
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good quality food at attractive prices”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

went to this restaurant through the groupon voucher,very inviting welcome when my wife and i arrived,a great homely feeling as we walked in the front door,fantastic selection on the menu,my wife had the bhoona and i had the south indian chilli chicken,as the food arrived you could smell the freshness from this !i must say both curries were delicious and the chicken more or less melted in your mouth!the hygiene and cleanliness in this place certainly ticks the boxes aswell as the very attentive staff! i would highly reccomend this very attractive restaurant that sits on the south side of glasgow and i will certainly be back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank baresi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and yummy food”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Visted the branch in Condorrat. It was during the week so it was a bit quiet and to be honest i prefer it that way. My hubby took me here for my birthday. It's Indian, Chinese and Mediterranean buffet style. The price of the buffet is very reasonable priced. The food was a big hit. The Indian Korma was yummy. I tried a lot of different food and it tasted so fresh. The waiter was so helpful too explaining what the food was. Another favourite was dessert OMG what a selection WOW. Dime bar cake , lemon meringue but my all time favourite is apple pie with toffee.. Decor is lovely and inviting. The place is spotlessly clean and plenty of parking spaces. First time visitor and i will be definitely be back. Oh i might to add the open the door when you enter and when you leave. How sweet is that.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PERRAN28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimla Pinks also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing