We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #29 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Less than helpful”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I booked this hotel through hostelbookers, and the reviews on their page didn't look so bad, wish I had read these trip advisor reviews before hand. In fact, none of the hostelbooker reviews for this place are up to date, which seems dodgy to me.
Upon arrival the lady who greeted us decided to add extra money to our bill without explanation (even though the amount was clearly written on the receipt she handed over, made to pay cash so I don't trust this was legit.
Our room was basic, clean enough, towels provided... then we noticed the odd sign stuck on the window, listing a few items which are not to be thrown out onto the lawn, you know, the usual... condoms, tampons, sweet wrappers.

There was no soap in the bathroom, so we couldn't wash our hands till we bought some from the shops. This was pretty slack considering even public toilets offer such basic hygiene rights.
Then later that evening, after an awesome night eating great food and watching live bands at the nearby restaurants/bars we came back to find our shower didn't work. We reported it in the morning, to the same member of staff who checked us in, but she was less than helpful. Just told us she didn't know it was broken and that she would have to call maintenance. Great! Now how does that benefit us?! No money offered in compensation, or even an alternative bathroom to use. Upon reading other reviews, i'm not sure she was completely ignorant to this issue either. We stayed in room 5, in case you ever decide to brave this hotel.

Breakfast was pretty minimal too, stale cereal, cold white toast, instant coffee and rationed orange juice.

My advice is to avoid staying here, it's not worth the cheap price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    18
    12
    16
See reviews for
17
39
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

- 20 minutes by walk from the city centre
- great price
- acceptable breakfasts
- clean room and bathroom
- low wifi connection
- kind stuff (terrible accent!)
at this price level the accomodation was really satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proxima_Centauri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stopped at this guest house for one night, to go and see a gig at the O2 ABC and at £45 a night you cannot complain. It was clean, warm and the lady who greeted us was friendly and helpful.

Basically if you pay £45 when a Premier Inn will set you back £70 I don't think you can complain. Sure you do not get what the Premier Inn provide but for a few nights I don't think it is that bad. Sure it was a bit basic but you do get a simple breakfast thrown in for that price, something you would not get at Premier Inn and would pay another £8 each on top for.

All in all I think it is fine, just don't go with any expectations and you will see it for what it is. A decent little place to stop at for a few days in a nice enough area, with bars and restaurants a stones throw away with a nice walk into the sites down a wide promenade lined with old Georgian buildings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HermioneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our visit to Glasgow was made more enjoyable by your extremely friendly and helpful staff, namely Jackie, Helen and Tracey. They made my sister and I feel completely at home. We can't thank them enough.
Any time I'm in Glasgow I'll stay at the Beersbridge Lodge.

Room Tip: this hotel is not for everyone, such as soap and facecloths are not provided
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiesue7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnard
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked beersbridge lodge through booking.com and expected to stay for 3 nights.it was my partners birthday and I was hoping to show her the sites of Glasgow.well site she got that is when the front door was eventually opened (this has been also mentioned by someone else) the room we were shown was filthy there was a television propped up by a towel which when I mentioned it to the Wee Glesga lady showing us in didn't seem bothered.we told her we wanted a different room after a lot of excuses she took us to one .she then mentioned payment and said they preferred cash(I can see why you won't get it back) it was the note on the window that said it all DO NOT THROW CONDOMS OR TAMPAX OUT OF THE WINDOW.we left after paying £45 cancellation none refundable.i wish I had looked at the bad reviews on tripadvisor first.clearly this dump is relying on cancellation money no one in there right mind will want to stay.

Room Tip: don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilburylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

we have just returned from a four day motorbike tour of Scotland. this was the lowest point of our otherwise wonderful trip.
we were greeted with a growl and an overwhelming stench of fresh cigarette smoke wafting from the entrance. the wee body who greeted us showed us to our room. the carpet was filthy, wallpaper held on with sellotape in places, furniture dropping to bits. the bed linen appeared clean, but it was hard to tell as everything reeked of cigarette smoke. we almost walked out prior to paying, if we had been staying more than one night, we would have left there and then.
we were told breakfast was served between 8 and 9. the following morning we went to the dining room, there were two other ladies staying there. they stated that the lady would come and take our order. however, the lady was nowehere to be found! we ended up helping ourselves, making our own tea and toast which was all we could find apart from a bit of cheap n nasty dusty museli.
it was a pleasure to leave! £45 it might have been....do yourself a favour and do not stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky620186380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Booked a room for two nights as a 'bed for the night' on a weekend in Glasgow. Only £35 per night so wasn't expecting much and that's exactly what we got. Rooms are very shabby and there was no breakfast on the first morning due to no being staff available and decided not to bother with breakfast the second morning after seeing the dining room. Although our room was badly in need of major maintenance the bathroom was clean with fresh towels. Certainly won't be going here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you need a really basic crash pad for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 95 in Glasgow
202 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 95 in Glasgow
574 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
913 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#89 of 95 in Glasgow
1,083 reviews
Alamo Guest House
#2 of 36 in Glasgow
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse
Address: 50 Bentinck Street, Glasgow G3 7TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Glasgow
Beersbridge Lodge Guesthouse Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing