We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly a place serving non-Viet dishes for non-Viets”
Review of Non Viet

Non Viet
Ranked #89 of 2,892 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Glasgow's only authentic Vietnamese cuisine with two branches. Locations in 536 Sauchiehall Street near Charing Cross and 609 Great Western Road, near Kelvin Bridge. Offering all the traditional crafted North and South Vietnamese dishes in a warm welcoming environment. Now fully licensed with a range of Hanoi, Saigon beers and quality wines.
Restaurant details
Description: Glasgow's only authentic Vietnamese cuisine with two branches. Locations in 536 Sauchiehall Street near Charing Cross and 609 Great Western Road, near Kelvin Bridge. Offering all the traditional crafted North and South Vietnamese dishes in a warm welcoming environment. Now fully licensed with a range of Hanoi, Saigon beers and quality wines.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Come on, this is not Vietnamese food. The bun sa vermicelli tasted nothing like what a Vietnamese bun sa should taste like (sour, pungent, fresh, sweet, salty). Instead, it tasted like a Chinese stir fry. Even the noodle was not vermicelli. Waitress was also rude in reminding me that single diners don't usually get a whole table that seats 4 people (all the small tables were occupied, and restaurant was half empty, so where else should I sit?). Will not return for sure.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AsianFoodieX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious authentic Vietnamese cuisine. We ordered the chicken and prawn and pork and prawn spring rolls and two raw beef pho. All amazing. Prompt service, friendly staff. Good price. Very happy will go back.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank sophie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

We were stranded and looking for a place to eat just before 10pm and stumbled upon this joint. Even though it was a bit late they were friendly, polite and accommodating.

What blew us away though was the quality of the food. I had a vegan dish and I think it is probably the best meal I have had all year.

Keep up the good work, Non Viet!!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Njalalle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

My friend and I often visit the restaurant, the pho soup is to die for. Service is quick and friendly, speacial thanks to Timi who was was extremely nice to us.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Szofi1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonViet, Front Office Manager at Non Viet, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2019

Hi Szofi,

Our pho is the best in Glasgow, at least in our own humble opinion, so we are delighted that you enjoy it so much.
Timi is one of our best so we'll be passing along your very kind feedback to her.

Best wishes,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

We visited this restaurant with my boyfriend, I wanted to show him what real vietnamese food is about. The interior is lovely and even made me feel a little homesick.

I've experienced the good stuff and with what is available in the UK, this restaurant made the best of it.
I did miss certain things in my Pho (like stronger broth and even more fatty meat); fried spring rolls were wrapped in a different paper that reminded me more of chinese spring rolls - but those are details and personal preferences!

I came there to get some comfort Viet food that I missed being away from home and I got it along with friendly staff.

Worth a visit!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nlnguyenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonViet, Front Office Manager at Non Viet, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2019

Hi there,

Thank you for the review and for your feedback.

Best wishes,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Non Viet also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Non Viet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing