We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wee Lochan

Wee Lochan
Ranked #23 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Wee Lochan is a happy, friendly restaurant serving delicious food at an affordable price. There are fish dishes, meat dishes and a vegetarian option on every menu. We serve scones in the mornings and afternoons warm from the oven with homemade raspberry jam. Christmas bookings are popular so if you fancy your works Christmas meal with us give us a shout! Come and say hello...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went on a Sunday where you get three courses for £14.95. Big portions, good choice, lovely meal. Service was excellent. Will definately be returning!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rhysmillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    117
    25
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have eaten here many times with my boyfriend and his mum. It's a firm favourite of theirs for both impromptu lunches and planned evenings with friends. The food is always of a very high standard and I am particularly fond of their fish dishes. The waiting staff are attentive, friendly and are aware of my boyfriend's allergies, so it makes the process of ordering a little easier. Recently we celebrated my boyfriend's graduation here and his family who were visiting from afar seemed to be pleased with their evening at Wee Lochan. The only real issue I have with the restaurant is that it can get quite stuffy in the evenings, requiring the door to be opened to cool it down. This means that there is mixed feelings in the restaurant as some diners will experience a strong draft and want the door to be closed, whilst others are desperate for it to be kept open!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HiThenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wee Lochan - Wee Portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lovely food but expensive in relation to the amount on the plate. Unless you go for all three courses, you may well leave hungry. Nice but overrated. Sorry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LizM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Have visited many times and on Thursday returned for early dinner. Perfect in every way. Service was quietly efficient and very helpful. Food was as always very very good. Beautifully cooked and presented and very tasty. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack1Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blown away by this wee restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My Gran is a regular here but this was my first visit. Despite leaving it quite late in the week to book a table for a Saturday evening they went out of their way to fit us in. Our waitress was amicable and polite - not at all overbearing. The food was extraordinary and there was a very wide choice of dishes. We drank a delightful bottle of wine which was reasonably priced (our bill was £114 for three courses, wine and coffee for three of us). All in all, this is somewhere highly to be recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rufus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wee Lochan also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Wee Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing