We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”
Review of Wee Lochan

Wee Lochan
Ranked #25 of 2,429 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Wee Lochan is a happy, friendly restaurant serving delicious food at an affordable price. There are fish dishes, meat dishes and a vegetarian option on every menu. We serve scones in the mornings and afternoons warm from the oven with homemade raspberry jam. Christmas bookings are popular so if you fancy your works Christmas meal with us give us a shout! Come and say hello...
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We popped in here for lunch on Friday after hearing great reviews and were not disappointed. Staff friendly and very efficient, restaurant was busy and had a lovely atmosphere. We went for the lunch deal, brilliant value and the food was fantastic. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suze_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    121
    27
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“a wee local gem that thanks to Trip advisor i found”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

my colleague and I were going to visit the new Hydro and we looked at the area and picked this resturaunt as a lunch venue. We arrived and were met very pleasantly greeted as we walked in. We sat down and scanned the menu to find a small but superb lunch menu. I had the home made soup which was delicious (i cannot remember the name) my colleague had the Cullen Skink. We then both had the pork with prunes in the centre again extremely good. The lady that served us explained that her husband was the cook and you can taste the professionalism and passion he puts into his work. I am on a mission to continue to try as many of the restaurants listed as possible on Tripadvisor, but if I am back in the area I would definitely go back. I am only sorry that the credit card machine did not give us the opportunity to leave a tip,

Helpful?
Thank aldial44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seriously Good.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We came here on my sister's recommendation. The room is intimate and understated. We were seated quickly by a friendly waitress. The menu was varied and ambitious for such a small establishment and all four of us chose different items. Every one of the starters and mains was excellent. This is a serious kitchen brigade who know their way around. The starter I had was a simple black pudding and poached egg. Simple doesn't mean easy and real care had been taken with this dish. The obviously well-sourced black pudding was spicy and cooked to the perfect 'just crisp' consistency and the very fresh egg was again perfectly cooked with a rich, very gold yolk. The dedication and care the kitchen take with the smallest details all adds up to dishes of properly sourced ingredients, treated with care and knowledge and served in a way that allows the main flavours to speak for themselves - nothing is gimmicky or over-presented. I was very, very impressed. The dedication and professionalism of the kitchen staff is matched by the attitude of the front of house staff. The service is perfectly balanced - friendly without being over-attentive, professional and knowledgeable. As with the kitchen, it's the little things done well that add up to good service. For example, although the place was full (on a freezing Thursday night), our waitress seemed totally in control and there was no sense of rush or urgency in her service. She was confident and professional at every point. The wine list was varied and thoughtful and all the wines were available by the glass (a nice touch). To round off an excellent meal, the coffee (something too many places get badly wrong) was perfect. A good restaurant experience is made up of a thousand little things done well and with care - Wee Lochan has got it spot on.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Campbell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Believe the hype”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We gave this place a try after reading very good recent reviews on trip advisor. It lived up to all of those! Really faultless.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenahunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We decide to make our way from Paisley over this way to try as we had spotted restuarant on tripadvisor. Was well worth the trip.
What a lovely place with a really sweet atmosphere. Staff very friendly and speedy. Best of all food was really nice.
Will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynnemul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wee Lochan also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Wee Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing