We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem”
Review of Wee Lochan

Wee Lochan
Ranked #22 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Wee Lochan is a happy, friendly restaurant serving delicious food at an affordable price. There are fish dishes, meat dishes and a vegetarian option on every menu. We serve scones in the mornings and afternoons warm from the oven with homemade raspberry jam. Christmas bookings are popular so if you fancy your works Christmas meal with us give us a shout! Come and say hello...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“little gem”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

what a find and excellent restaurant friendly staff who were friendly and very helpful.just loved the menu with lots of interesting dishes not the usual things.will definately go back as it was such an enjoyable experience.lovely atmosphere and just a pleasant night ouy

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gordon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    122
    27
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Fantastic find.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for the first time on Saturday night and although it was busy the food and service were second to none. My partner thought his steak was one of the best he'd very had.
The menu has about 5 or 6 choices in starter, mains and desserts and all are beautifully cooked to order, seasonal and well presented.
Besides the best food and wine l've had for a long time the atmosphere of the place is great.
Take the time after you've eaten,to look around at the mini art gallery that occupies all available wall space, really it's worth a quick tour.
Oh also before you go you could if you have room take home some home made tablet or toffee sauce.
Can't wait to get back here again.

Helpful?
4 Thank Catrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
779 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 775 helpful votes
“Top class restaurant”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

First visit to Wee Lochan and hopefully not the last, when we arrived there were people sitting outside and once inside we were warmly greeted. We were shown to our table which we had reserved beforehand. The restaurant was pleasantly decorated in black and white with framed pictures all over. There was a good buzz to the place and was packed to capacity by the time we left.

We decided on the set meals which were reasonably priced, I had the Toulouse Sausages and my partner had the Hake, both the meals were well presented. The dessert was equally as tasty as the main course.

We were very impressed by our first visit to Wee Lochan and hope to visit again in the near future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very special dining experience in every way.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited Wee Lochan for Sunday lunch. What a cozy little restaurant! We were welcomed warmly, our aperitif order was taken as the menus were brought to us and we had ample time to select our meals.
The food was excellent and beautifully presented. The staff were attentive but not at all intrusive and were clearly happy to be serving us. Top marks to all at Wee Lochan - we look forward to coming back e'er long.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Food fantastic staff very pleasant and great value for money.been quite a few times and always been high standard

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ANDERSON51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wee Lochan also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Wee Lochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing