We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lorne Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Novotel Glasgow Centre(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$100
$88
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$138
$115
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$74
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Glasgow City Centre(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$110
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Argyll Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$59
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$142
$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$117
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,063 results
Traveler rating
282
332
226
107
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
332
226
107
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscocktail barcity centrewest endstreet parkingsauchiehall streetlovely hotelkelvingrove museumbooked this hotelwould stay againrestaurant staffsse hydroone night stayreception areahotel barbars and restaurantsself serviceyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
994 - 999 of 1,063 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2010

After getting a good deal on lastminute.com, my girlfriend and I had 3 nights here earlier this month,
A lovely modern reception area, with a great bar just off it.
Our room was a good enough size, although I did see into another room that was being cleaned and spy that it was a good bit smaller than ours.
Room was nicely decorated, comfortable, noise free, but not too hot (thanks to air con). The shower room off the room was perfect. Small but smart, and the actual shower was fantastic, which is rare in large hotels.
The bar was great, and a good starting point for our nights out. Cocktails and champagne by the glass.
Didnt try the restaurant, but will be back to try this place again and will give the restaurant a go then.
Friendly, helpful reception and bar staff added to the great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthEast1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The rooms are tiny, unless you love your partner loads and can tolerate them in a small place do not go. There were poppodums crushed up around the breakfast table because no body could be bothered to tidy up. Service was slow at the resturant and was not healthy as presented by the website. The cocktails at the bar were tasty but the good barstaff were leaving as they were fed up with the poor service of the resturant. It is not worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We stayed at the Lorne Hotel for a couple of days last week with a cheap deal from lastminute.com. I thought it was a great hotel that exceeded my expectations. We had a lovely room, which was a fair size for the price, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly without being over-bearing.

Very few complaints; the room was a little too hot at night, even when we worked out the air con system, we could only get about 3 channels on the TV and our Room Service order was ignored - although on reflection, this was probably quite wise!

One of the best features of the hotel for me was the Bukharah Restaurant. It is a large restaurant and wasn't very busy but the food was really good and the staff were great fun and very accomodating.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Hotel is in a great location - 20mins from the centre, close to SECC & west end. From the outside the hotel is very new and shiny compared to the tenements surrounding it and there seems to be a nice atmosphere in the large lobby area. Checking in was fairly easy, however we were given a room on the first floor and were shocked to find that the room was already occupied when we opened it. 2nd attempt checking in got us a room on the 4th floor and was disappointingly much smaller than the first one.
Everything looks new and clean, the bathroom is a decent size. The cheap plastic toilet lets the room down a little, but there are nice complimentary toiletries and a power shower. There is a nice flatsreen tv in the room and air con which was great, and the windows are double glazed and keep the traffic sounds out. Another disappointing thing is that there is only the bare minimum of tea/coffee in the room, no hot chocolate or biscuits. However the hair dryer is very good. We stayed 2 nights and were surprised to find that housekeeping had only left us one towel on the 2nd day. On the day of our departure housekeeping burst into the room at 08:30am, which wasn’t very pleasant, and if we had been asked if we enjoyed our stay upon checking out I would have raised that issue, however we weren’t which I think they should consider doing to avoid getting bad reviews!

All in all I would stay here again considering how cheap it was, I just hope that next time there wont be the problems we encountered.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews