We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding!”
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lorne Hotel
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Fantastic staff - they were (without exception) warm and welcoming, friendly, efficient and very professional.

Great food, gorgeous decor. A modern hotel that combines service, comfort and 'personal touch' hospitality perfectly.

Super value in a good location.

Will go again!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffreyernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

The staff were very helpful and the rooms although on the small side were very clean and presentable.

Its situated in a great area for restaurants and sight seeing.

i would stay again but not in room 314

Room Tip: We stayed in room 314 and and we had the misfortune to have some sort of air conditioner/air vent go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights having read the posts of the previous reviewers. I would agree that the rooms were small, but adequate and not bad value for the price we paid. The bathroom was clean and staff provided extra bedding on request, as it was rather cold. The breakfast was served in the restaurant and freshly cooked. Although there were some issues with communication at the front desk, the staff were polite and well presented. We ate in the Indian restaurant on the first night and the food in there was superb. Parking is an issue of you stay Monday - Friday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mowbreck61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Service, care, hygiene are key elements of my reviews. Back in Glasgow at a busy time of year for really challenging family issue (illness). Found the Lorne hotel - staff amazingly helpful (Audrey and Veronica especially). Room great, service great, cleanliness good. But the genuine care and help I received was OUTSTANDING!! Future return visits to the city of my birth will have me stay there.... It's always all about service and they have excelled here!!
It's also near the best style and gastro pubs in Britain (better than London!)

Stayed: December 2013
Thank ThisisGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Nice place, clean and still looks new, I thought the price of drink was expensive but I've been told its about the normal price for a city center hotel, had steak and chips for lunch and was probably 1 of the best steaks I've ever had, and I've had lots of steaks, even the chips were delicious, fine and near the new sse hydrodome for concert goers, also nice freindly staff who were willing to help at all times, wish I stayed for 2 nights now ;-)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

As a party of 5 we visited the Indian Restaurant at The Lorne Hotel for a Christmas Night out.
On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. We had a few drinks at the bar before we went through for our meal. The price of drinks was about average for a City Centre Hotel. Lovely cocktails and lovely atmosphere . The food in the restaurant was fantastic and the staff very attentive. The Restaurant manager made sure we had everything we needed and we were not rushed at all throughout our meal, in fact we were at our table for about 4 hours . I would definitely recommend this restaurant . The bar had a DJ on and he was really good, not too noisy so you could still have a conversation without shouting. So we would just like to say a big thank you to the Restaurant manager and all the staff for making our Christmas night out very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spenceskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was fine, nothing to rave about. Rooms were compact, but had all the essentials needed. We had to be asked to move from our original room as it was stinking of gloss and not to mention it was freezing and the heating didn't work. The manager was great and moved us no problem.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Arbroathians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
842 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
585 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#58 of 93 in Glasgow
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $68 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service, where you will enjoy your experience by leaving feeling that you had received 4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing