We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lorne Hotel
Ranked #50 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the lorne hotel 1 nights staff great the look of the place was nice all just a little over priced for what you get but my biggest disappointment was the quality and choice at breakfast cheap ingredients sausage and bacon and especially the bread , I was looking forward to breakfast and was let down badly especially as the kitchen produces such fantastic Indian food I have eaten there many times and it is always top drawer so disappointed was I that I didn't even bother with breakfast on day 2 opting to pay in a cafe in nearby partick

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robb1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    275
    180
    71
    86
See reviews for
69
430
34
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Really bad stay here. Won't return. We had problems from the moment we arrived as the hotel had made mistakes with our booking and the receptionist is probably one of the worst I've ever come across.

On the second night the power had gone off in the hotel and they did not have any running water in our room. We couldn't use the bathroom or even make a cup of tea.

After some discussions with the manager we did receive a refund and he was very genuine in his apology. Sadly though I don't think we would risk staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rollingrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The room and services was great and price was excellent. The evening meal was very enjoyable and the breakfast buffet had a great choice.
Drinks at the bar were slightly more expensive than
your local pub but for as a one off acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Overall, very pleased with our stay. Two of the rooms were faultless but the third was on the first floor above a wedding reception that went on until the early hours, also a mirror would have been handy in order to see the TV. Don't be put off though, I would go again. Also there is a fantastic Indian restrant on the ground floor in which I had the best curry ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The electricity seemed to have been cut of as they we're being supplied by a massive lorry generator that reverberated throughout the building and local streets. We were told it was a network fault but that was rubbish as there was no work going on and no Scottish Power attending.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dibblydowcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The room was small, and a bit grubby. The parking is very limited. Breakfast was below average. There are far better places in glasgow for the same money. The only positive thing was the staff were friendly at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpertYakSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights back in Dec 2011 after a long week of travelling.

Really surprised at the poor reviews, as we found the Lorne Hotel very plesant and extremely stylish.

Didn't spend a great deal of time in the hotel, but did meet a friend for cocktails in the very stylish cocktail bar, where the roaring fire was a great comfort against the Glasgow Winter.

The hotel is a bit of a walk into the city centre, but for me, not as far as you'd want to take a taxi to avoid it. It's a straight road down to the Royal Concert Hall, and all the shopping areas around that. You really can't get lost.

Very quiet stay, and very comfortable room, with a boutique feel. Rooms not very large, but great price and really loved the decor

Recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank irishtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Property: Lorne Hotel
Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service where you will enjoy your experiance by leaving feeling that you had received4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing