We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not past reception yet! An hour and waiting”
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lorne Hotel
Ranked #52 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not past reception yet! An hour and waiting”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I would love to review the hotel but after an hour in reception neither myself nor the other 40 people in reception have a key. Fingers crossed I get a room by midnight!! On a positive they did give us a free drink

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dcs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon W, General Manager at Lorne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Dcs34

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback about your recent stay at the Lorne Hotel Glasgow. I have just taken over the Hotel so all guest feedback is really helpful in allowing me to understand what we do well and put together a plan to improve on the things we're not so good at.

It sounds like we really let you down, unfortunately that isn't good enough and is entirely inexcusable, for that please accept my sincere apologies. I do hope that we were able to get you checked in and that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

If you're back in Glasgow please contact me directly at the Hotel and I'll make sure you're looked after.

Regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    297
    198
    82
    91
See reviews for
77
462
40
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you book this hotel there is a very high probability that on arrival you'll find they have no rooms left and that they've made alternative arrangements for you to stay at a sister hotel. Unfortunately this "alternative" is likely to be nowhere near the West End, or even Glasgow! I was offered a room in Hamilton. I cancelled my booking but two weeks later I am still waiting for a refund. Staff who answer my calls are unhelpful and evasive (the manager never seems to be available).
Note also that Strathclyde Police are investigating ongoing booking issues at this hotel. Be warned!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon W, General Manager at Lorne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Norman M

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback about your recent stay at the Lorne Hotel Glasgow. I have just taken over the Hotel so all guest feedback is really helpful in allowing me to understand what we do well and put together a plan to improve on the things we're not so good at.

It sounds like we let you down, overbookings are entirely unacceptable and whilst they happen for a range of reasons it isn't good enough. I'm really sorry for the inconvenience this caused you for what should have been a great stay in our fantastic Hotel.

I'd like to get to the bottom of the issue you've had with your refund, I'm sorry this hasn't been dealt with before now. I've only been appointed as manager today and therefore am not yet based at the Hotel. If I could ask you to email me your details to gordon@wilsonltd.co.uk I will get someone to investigate the matter.

Regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stay in hotels across the country 4 nights per week with work and can safely say, despite staying in some very modest hotels and b and b's, that my stay in Lorne was the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel.
In summary, I arrived at the hotel on Tuesday night at 8.00pm only to be told that they had accidentally double booked my room on the first night of my two night stay. I am of the opinion that accidents can happen and so was happy to wait until they found me alternative accommodation. I was annoyed that it took them until 11.30 to find me a room when hotels.com clearly showed lots of availability across Glasgow.
As instructed by Lorne I returned on the Wednesday night for the second night of my pre paid stay. My room was double booked AGAIN. I politely expressed my disappointment only be told in a fairly snotty manner that their only obligation was to find me a different room and that I had only been waiting a few hours. I then told him that I had actually checked in the night before hence my disappointment. I asked one of the staff who the manager was and he pointed out the Hotel owner at the end of the bar. I politely requested a chance to speak to him which was ignored. One hour later he was passing and I excused myself and asked could I have a quick minute of his time. He denied to my face that he was the owner and was in no such position to offer a refund or compensation.
So anyways, I sit and wait for accommodation to be found. Finally after much polite pleading they find me a room at 2.40 in the morning. I had a flight booked for 7.20 from Glasgow that morning and so could look forward to a maximum 3 hours sleep in the alternative accommodation. I then woke up in the alternative accommodation to get some much needed breakfast only to be told that the Lorne Hotel had booked me on a room only basis. It really does beggar belief.
On a positive note the bar staff and reception staff were courteous and amicable even when clearly stressed. The general/bar manager Craig was very unhelpful to the point of being argumentative even when the hotel was clearly in the wrong. I asked him would I be expected to pay for this experience and he explained that he had not got the authority to issue a refund. I can accept this but he would not give me any guarantee that the owner/manager would contact me at any stage only telling me to put it in writing for the attention of the owner. I asked before I left if the owner could contact me but alas I am still waiting for any contact as is the other guests I spoke to who had the displeasure of staying in Lorne.
I can say, with genuine sincerity, that I would not stay in this hotel again for free and I implore anyone with any alternative to AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE.
Robert

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank robert431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon W, General Manager at Lorne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear robert431

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback about your recent stay at the Lorne Hotel Glasgow. I have just taken over the Hotel so all guest feedback is really helpful in allowing me to understand what we do well and put together a plan to improve on the things we're not so good at.

As a fellow traveller I can understand your frustrations and would like to apologise for whatever has led to the issues with your reservation. Your feedback clearly identifies the need for training within the team and I'm keen this will be implemented as soon as possible to stop other guests from having a similar experience to yours.

I have only been appointed today and not being based at the Hotel can only express my apologies that you haven't heard from anyone in relation to your complaint. I was pleased to note that you found our bar and reception staff to be courteous, I'll make sure this feedback is cascaded to the team.

I hope you'll give me the chance to welcome you back to the Hotel sometime in the future. Please contact me directly if you're back in Glasgow.

Regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Where to start?! I should have know that when I tried to book my room, it took 3 attempts on the phone as no one answered! I was going out in the westend, therefore this hotel was ideal location for me. I should have checked tripadvisor before I booked!

Hotel is lovely as you enter, nice reception area, very deceiving! Reception looked a bit of a shambless with a harrassed receptionist who could not find our booking (suprise). I was made to feel like it was my fault that they could not find my booking, was told to take a seat while they sorted it out. An hour later, we had our room.

I'm glad my room was on a discounted rate as I would not have paid the going rate for this room! There was staines on the wall, the carpet was marked, the furniture looked worn and cheap. It was, however, clean.

We ate in the restaurant before going out, again, the staff had no clue, our order was messed up twice with no apology. Not enough staff for the size of restaurant, and no one seemed to care that mistakes were being made.

During the night, we were awoke several times by people staying on the same floor, fire doors banging (at least 3 on each floor) and then was rudely awoken twice in the morning by housekeeping.

At breakfast, the food was sparse, we had to wait on more food being brought out. Staff lacking as ususal. When we did get more food, it was soaked with grease and tasted slightly like pakora. Not good when you're hungover...

Check out was pretty much as good as check in, an utterly miserable receptionist huffing as we were served. Never even asked if we enjoyed our stay!

Would not recommend nor return. Not even if you paid me! Very poor excuse for a hotel.

Room Tip: Dont stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon W, General Manager at Lorne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Gracie A

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback about your recent stay at the Lorne Hotel Glasgow. I have just taken over the Hotel so all guest feedback is really helpful in allowing me to understand what we do well and put together a plan to improve on the things we're not so good at.

I'm sorry you found your recent stay didn't live up to expectation. You have highlighted a number of areas where we can get better and I will address all of them with the relevant members of the team, be assured that they will be used as part of our ongoing committment to improve. I was pleased to read that you found the Hotel to be clean and that we were located well for your night out.

I'd love to welcome you back to the Hotel next time you're in Glasgow. Please contact me directly if you would like to make a booking.

Regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at the hotel checking in late afternoon. Although a very old building the hotel is very modern and you would never know how old the hotel is.

At check in I was helped to find parking spot for weekend and given a network cable for my laptop.

Although the room is very compact everything was clean tidy and in working order, although I did bash the tv walking round the bed.

Great shower. I did not have breakefast as this was not included in the cost.

bar prices were quite high so drank over the road.

All in all a good modern hotel just 5 mins from Kelvinhall or the GSA and shops

Very happy for the £50 i paid

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon W, General Manager at Lorne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Greenoak

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback about your recent stay at the Lorne Hotel Glasgow. I have just taken over the Hotel so all guest feedback is really helpful in allowing me to understand what we do well and put together a plan to improve on the things we're not so good at.

Absolutely delighted to read your positive comments about your recent stay with us. So pleased that you found your stay to be enjoyable and that our staff were able to help you find somewhere to get parked.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel sometime soon.

Happy travelling
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

A modern hotel with comfortable rooms, the staff were very friendly & helpful, The restaurant food was good but they did struggle serving large number at once. They had a whole coach full come in at the same time for breakfast which meant people were standing round waiting for food to be cooked and even worse ran out of crockery. This was the hotels fault as they had told them to come in at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartmart1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon W, General Manager at Lorne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Smartmart1958

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback about your recent stay at the Lorne Hotel Glasgow. I have just taken over the Hotel so all guest feedback is really helpful in allowing me to understand what we do well and put together a plan to improve on the things we're not so good at.

Thank you for your positive comments relating to your recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and I'll make sure your feedback is shared with the team. In relation to breakfast, you've highlighted an area we need to get better and I'll make sure your comments are passed to the restaurant manager to help us improve.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Lorne Hotel.

Regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

First room we got was terrible. Lights didn't work, kettle didn't work, no storage for our clothes. Couldn't be moved as hotel was full. In morning I called to complain (again) and move rooms, but phone wasn't working! Second room was a little better, although walls so thin I could hear couple next door talking.
Indian restaurant was not great, and breakfast (which we got on the house) was satisfactory.
Not nearly enough staff for a hotel this size. Although the staff that were there tried their best.
I wont be going back and would not recommend to my friends. For the price there are much better alternatives.

Room Tip: Our rooms were 208 and 424. Avoid those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser Brighton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon W, General Manager at Lorne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Fraser Brighton S

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback about your recent stay at the Lorne Hotel Glasgow. I have just taken over the Hotel so all guest feedback is really helpful in allowing me to understand what we do well and put together a plan to improve on the things we're not so good at.

I'm sorry our Hotel didn't live up to your expectation during your recent stay with us. I'm glad we were able to find you another room when we had an alternative available but I'm disappointed for the need to move. I'll pick this up with our housekeeping and maintenance team to ensure that we have a more rigorous checking system in place in future.

I hope you'll reconsider staying with us again. With a fantastic location in the heart of Glasgow's West End and a short walking distance to the City Centre the Hotel provides a great base for a trip to the city. Please contact me directly if you'd like to stay with us sometime in the future.

Regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
787 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
206 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 95 in Glasgow
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#68 of 95 in Glasgow
566 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
400 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#90 of 95 in Glasgow
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Property: Lorne Hotel
Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service, where you will enjoy your experience by leaving feeling that you had received 4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing