We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lorne Hotel
Ranked #58 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Food was great. Lovely breakfast and room. Restaurant is lovely. Great experience all round!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CESTTOUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
There are newer reviews for Lorne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 968 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

Impersonal. Staff, while polite to your face were totally ineffectual. Two requests to address the broken sink in bathroom were ignored; the promise that 'the manager will email you' has never happened. Room was 'tired and shabby'; no mirror except for small one in bathroom; broken bedside phone. Will not be recommending friends or family to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 186220Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Myself and my wife were visiting friends in Glasgow and our friends recommended that we try the restaurant within the Lorne Hotel, Glasgow.

We did not expect a restaurant within a hotel to be that good to be honest but WOW! As soon as we arrived we were treated like Royalty and even offered a complimentary drink each due to the fact that we initially waited 2-3 minutes for a table to be cleared, yes only 2-3 minutes!

After being seated at our table we then proceeded to order our food, from a very comprehensive menu may I add. I ordered Dall and my wife decided on a chicken Tikka dish.

The food was some of the best we have ever experienced and the staff were totally on the ball i.e. no waiting and providing a prompt service 2nd to none.

I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Glasgow and we will definitely be visiting Glasgow again, and our 1st stop will be this restaurant!!!

Keep up the good work ;)

AAAAA+++++++++

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Not quite sure what a boutique hotel is - it seems to be somewhere with a lot dark brown colours and too many cushions, but not getting the basics right.
The hotel is well situated and the staff were pleasant and helpful, but this can't make up for the problems with the building.
Our original room had faulty electrics, but we were quickly and courteously offered another and "upgraded". The superior room was clean but pretty compact and had some minor damage and scuffs to the decoration.
The main problem was that although the room was at the at the back of the hotel it was right next to a large ventaltion duct, which even through the double glazing made an uncomfortably loud noise, meaning there was no chance of opening the window. However the low roaring from the extract fan did help to partially drown out the disco which although 1 floor down and around the corner was very loud. At about midnight the vent was turned off, leaving us able to "enjoy" the disco much more clearly until about 1a.m. giving little chance for sleep before then. At about 7.00am the ventilator started up again. This is clearly a common problem as the Receptionist next morning mentioned the noise before we did when we said we had not enjoyed our stay.
The breakfast was pretty unimaginative and we moved our tables as the floor underneath the first table we sat at had spilt food under it from the night before.
Considering we paid almost as much as room at the Malmaison, my to anyone thinking of staying at the Lorne would be to shell out the extra tenner and stay there, my advice to the management of the Lorne would be to decide whether you are night club or hotel - the latter would seem a better bet as I can't imagine you will many return guests - certainly not these ones.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jervislum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My daughter was due to stay here for a work commitment the next day having had the room booked through the company she works for.
Having left work in Manchester then traveling strait upto Glasgow by train not arriving till 9pm.
Arrived at hotel to be told that they had double booked her room.
I find this a disgusting way to do business.
Avoid this hotel at all cost.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scharmann24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLorne, General Manager at Lorne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

Thank you for your review. First of all please let me reiterate my apologies which were relayed to your daughter at the time. Unfortunately due to various reasons hotels get overbooked, we do always attempt to ensure that this does not happen however in this situation it was unavoidable.

We did relocate your daughter to a hotel of an equivillant standard to ourselves located in a more central area of Glasgow. We also covered all extra costs incurred and offered a taxi to take your daughter to the new hotel. I feel I should point out that the hotel that we relocated to on this occasion was indeed 10 - 15 mins walk from ourselves

Once again please accept my sincere apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I stayed in Lorne Hotel for five nights during a conference in Glasgow. The room was small but quite adequate for one person. Bathroom was modern, and had a good shower. The room was tidy but some of the furniture was broken (like a cabinet door in my room and the shower holder in my colleague's room). A normal English breakfast (toast, scrambled eggs, beans, bacon etc.) was included in the room price. The internet access in the room requires a cable (you should take one with you from home) and there is a Wi-Fi connection in the lobby area (which also just might work in your room).

Room Tip: Ask a room from the fifth floor with a view to Glasgow university.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel is in a great location for all the bars and restaurants of Glasgow's west end. Unfortunately the sleek and shiny lobby hides small rooms missing essentials like mirrors and hairdryers! The breakfast was disappointing given the quality of food served in the restaurant in the evening. Not good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 93 in Glasgow
209 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
814 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
575 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Devoncove Hotel
#88 of 93 in Glasgow
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $62 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service, where you will enjoy your experience by leaving feeling that you had received 4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing