We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with accommodating staff”
Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acorn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Stayed here in Oct 2009 for a weekend in Glasgow paying £90 a night for the room and breakfast. Not in the most central location but a nice small hotel. We took a taxi from town and it really wasn't much as Glasgow taxis are a alot more resaonably priced than Edinburgh ones. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The breakfast was lovely too and the whole place recently refurbished (really nothing like those photos from 2005) so very pleasant stay. The bathroom had a shower only which seems to be quite typical for modern places. Oh and there was a computer for the guests to use for browsing. This came in handy for checking opening times for museums etc.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinttura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 496 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2010

i have to say as per usual i read the reviews for the Acorn before deciding to say!! Those who said positives were pretty much on the mark.

i noticed that there are some old pictures in the users pictures section form 2005, i can safely say the hotel no longer looks like that inside.

i believe that 1st impressions are very important in life and i feel that you won't be disappointed with the Acorn. Upon arrival we were quickly greeted by the hotel receptionist, she was very chirpy and very welcoming, she quickly checked us in with no fuss. The room was excellent, very contemporary with all the necessary amenities for a weekend stay. My only draw back on the room was that the soap dispensers were both empty ( I later heard staff scrambling round Sunday morning trying to get them topped up).

After a very pleasant nights sleep we headed down to exploit the breakfast. The breakfast room is reasonable small, but everything you could want was available! I’d strongly recommend the English Breakfast – yum yum!

All in all a very satisfactory trip, and I’d have no qualms recommend this accommodation to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maccahallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

A great location very close to Kelvingrove Gardens and museum and a short walk to the centre of Glasgow.
Room was very clean we had no problems. Valerie was friendly and seemed to be there all the time nothing was a bother to her.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Des & Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

There is a lot good about this place but there are some glaring errors in the small touches. The location is very good, good parking on the street outside, the area is very quiet at night but still very handy for the city centre. The entrance way is excellently finished and the interior public areas are modern, well done and look like a good deal of time and money was spent on getting this right.
The rooms have also been furnished to a similar good standard including a large flat screen Toshiba TV but it would have been nice to have curtains in addition to the roller blinds to add warmth to the room.
The ensuite was trendily decorated but we do expect more than just two bath towels in a room at Visit Scotland four star standard (ie no hand towels, bath sheets or face cloths). The shower gel dispenser was effective but there was no soap in the soap dispenser . For the ladies there were no shower caps. I would also expected the ensuite to be a little cleaner.
The tea tray was a little poor - one glass, no bottled water, one packet of those cheap biscuits. There was no booklet that we could find giving information on the hotel services available or local information.
Breakfast - a little lacking in choice and the orange juice was not very pleasant. The cooked breakfast was on the whole quite good probably due to the skill of the cook rather than the quality of the ingredients
Service from the staff was all friendly but more coaching is required to reach four star standard.
The price was good and we would probably stay here again but it wasn't quite what we expected.
Thank you to the staff for being chatty and good humoured.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DistantHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

really enjoyed my stay, albeit it's a B&B Hotel there's plenty of eating places around the area I had the best breakfast served in a hotel for a long time. Everything is cooked to order. Will certainly stay here again. Also a really clever idea are the straighteners in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank button12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

After overnight flight from US desk agent says no early check in. As per policy. No hospitality, no invitation to sit for tea or coffee in (empty) dining room, just a stone face. After check in wife disrobed in late afternoon to discover no hot water in shower. On my return I called desk (hotel operates with a single employee) and she came to room to confirm no hot water in shower. She called later to say repairman scheduled for 7:15 am next morning. Wife took cold shower, I took none. Awakened at 8 a. m. with pounding on ceiling. Workmen are replacing roof directly above room. At 8:15 in confrontation at desk another room is found with working plumbing and no roof banging. At checkout I discovered I was charged full price for first room/night. Protest was useless on the single employee available. E-mail two days ago unanswered. Never again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tarhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Lovely and clean, modern decor. Excellent location. Not really a hotel more a luxury bed and breakfast. Personal preference would be for a king size bed, not a double and also walls are very thin! good job only 19 rooms. Breakfast ok but monotonous if you are there for more than two days (like us). Also take your own bottle opener if you want a beer from the bar!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorraine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 93 in Glasgow
847 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
588 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
341 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $59 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing