We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West End walkabout”
Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acorn Hotel
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Welcoming the opportunity to support a smaller, local, family run hotel group, we had a very enjoyable four night stay in this lovely hotel. As a listed building I liked the traditional features, such as the atttractive staircase with wooden bannister, decorative cast iron spindles and low rise stairs, the bedroom sash windows, panelling and high ceilings. These original aspects have been tastefully complimented by a pleasing modern decor, furniture and finishings. Our room was an acceptable size, clean, with a green, gold, brown and sand colour scheme, and was well equipped with the usual amenities. The beds and pillows were comfortable and the bathroom was fine, a good sized shower with plenty of hot water and quite powerful, apart from two drops in pressure. A torn sheet and two 'blown bulbs' were swiftly replaced. The staff, in particular George, were generally friendly, pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was basic but adequate. As a vegan I did not expect dairy free spread and soya milk to be provided (Hilton had both and even the budget Premier Inn always has soya milk) but I suggested in my feedback form that it would be a relatively low cost option to offer this guest focused service. Using our own spread, we enjoyed fruit juice, grapefruit segments, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes, hash browns, toast and tea for breakfast. We thought the rate represented good value for money and the parking with the vouchers supplied at reception was only £4 per day. We were not bothered by any noise from the street and slept well every night. Location was excellent and we cannot understand why other reviewers did not consider it to be central. The city centre is a mere 15 to 20 minutes walk away, there are plenty of good bars and restaurants in the locality, Kelvingrove Park, the art gallery and museum, the Hunterian, Oran Mor, the Botanic Gardens, Byres Road and Ashton Lane area are all easily within walking distance. A stroll down Kelvinhaugh Street, over the footbridge, along the riverside walkway and across the Millenium Bridge takes you to the Science Centre and the excellent Riverside Museum is even closer. However, the main reason we chose this hotel, apart from the generally favourable reviews, is it's close proximity to the fantastic vegan bar and eatery 'The 78'!

Room Tip: Room One was nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kensmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review, your comments re breakfast are under consideration, thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Acorn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 453 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

As read in other reviews the breakfast could be better and the staff is not the friendliest you'll meet although their are not rude, a smile from time to time would do it!
The rooms are good, spacious enough and the bathroom is also good, very good shower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Fiancee and I stayed for 5 nights in August.
The room was a bit tight, however, expected for Europe.
The staff were very friendly.
Make sure to tell the staff the day BEFORE that you want to partake in the breakfast service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I really enjoyed the Acorn. Rooms are clean, comfortable, and supplied with tea and biscuits daily. The location was great for visiting the University, the Kelvingrove museum, and the park. Plenty of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor. There is some (very moderate) noise from the pub below.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Nice hotel located a short distance from the university, main shopping and restaurants. The room was small but this is the norm for Europe and the UK in our experience. Breakfast was included. What really makes this place worthwhile is the staff who really make you feel welcome and go out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_Roach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice little hotel for a good price. Although on the edge of the west end, its quite a walk to Kelvinggrove and Glasgow University. Rooms were clean and comfortable, but it lacks a lift and its a long haul to the third floor. The young woman running the entire hotel was very helpful and accommodating. Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernjack1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights based on other reviews and must agree about the quality and value of this hotel. Room was very clean and although small (I had a single room) had everything I needed. Walls are a little thin and you can hear quite a bit from adjoining rooms, but this did not disturb my sleep. Breakfast was typical Scottish and ample enough to last me through much of the day. Hotel is in good location with handy public transport once you master the crazy multi-company bus systems. Staff are very efficient if a little reserved, but one female staff member (Lyn?) who checked me in was friendly and responded to my emails after a flight delay might have caused a late arrival.

My only reason for not giving 5 stars for this review is because of the noise from a bar downstairs outside my room (Room 3). Although the noise did not go much beyond 10:30pm the smokers who sit outside get louder and louder as the evening moves on. This is not a fault of the Acorn Hotel and probably other rooms do not experience this. Despite this I strongly recommend the Acorn Hotel.

Room Tip: Some street noise from lower rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuzzaBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
575 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#54 of 93 in Glasgow
209 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albion Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
295 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
816 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $68 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing