We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“No complaints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acorn Hotel
Ranked #38 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed there for two nights at the end of May 2013.

A simple, straightforward and pretty inexpensive hotel and a very pleasant stay. The chap at reception (who did everything including cooking the breakfast) was friendly and helpful.

The rooms aren't big and nor are the bathrooms because it is an old house with converted rooms - but they're just fine. There was a shower, but no bath, which suited us perfectly. Breakfasts were very decent.

There is parking in the street outside and vouchers are available from reception - it's not expensive (we spent £6 over two days).

We liked the location, just near Kelvingrove Park. There is some outside traffic noise (but it's hardly a busy road) and as there is no air conditioning you need to have the window open in summer, so bear this in mind if you're an especially light sleeper.

Overall, no complaints

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJenReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    138
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
20
138
47
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Really great hotel - we happily stay here each time we visit Glasgow. It's in a perfect location, rooms are well presented and very good value for money. The staff have always been extremely helpful and friendly, and during our last stay George went above and beyond to make sure we were well looked after.

Room Tip: If possible get a room that isn't above the bar downstairs - in the summer with the windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ojboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a smart and very well run hotel. Just across the park from Glasgow University and the Hunterian it is a great place to stay. Rooms are small but very well set out. Nice finishing. Bathroom also compact but the shower is a decent size and is powerful hot etc.
Breakfast fresh hot and hearty (just do not ask for a full English remember this is Glasgow). The hotel has a small bar but despite this it has a much better range than they kind of railway station mini bars you might expect. As a small group of you could happily relax and have a drink.
Price wise this comes in at the same amount as a nice B&B or a drab hotel. £50-£70 single or double, There are plenty of regulars in this hotel!
Worst points: I was in a downstairs room and the street was very noisy Saturday in the wee small hours. The products are dove / tetley level and there is no earl grey tea at breakfast. I would definitely go back.
Oh and very near the Bon Accord pub if you like your ale/whisky.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

excellent location , walk up sauchiehall street and you are there , not the busiest hotel , but who cares , the guy at the reception was warm and welcoming , my room was what shall i say aseptically clean , good supply of booze at reasonable prices , enjoyed my bottle of Moet ,excellent value for money . Keep it up

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashutosh91072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I booked a single room for £51 for one night. Have stayed at plenty of places elsewhere that charge twice the price for half the quality. Pleasant spacious room and bathroom, good breakfast, nice area, friendly reception. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AlexJCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this very pleasant small hotel in the west end of Glasgow. The west end is definitely the more attractive and less frenetic of the locations to stay assuming you don't mind being off the main drag as regards the big shops and the more fashionable late night bars and clubs. If you are coming from the airport don't get the 500 airport bus ( like we did) get the 746 which stops in the west side of the M8 nearer the bottom of Elderslie Road. The hotel? Well we had a nicely decorated twin room with a smart bathroom. Beds were comfortable and the heating was adjustable - it was cold when we stayed and the room was fine at night. A walk-in shower, good quality TV, drinks making facilities were provided. Breakfasts were pretty good freshly cooked to order. Several good restaurants 10 minutes walk away on Argyll street and one really nice Indian/Scottish at the bottom of the street. Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpinahed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

First time to Glasgow. George who was on the desk provided maps, directions and advice which prove very useful in helping us to find our way around Glasgow. Good Bus connection to Glasgow airport nearby. George was very friendly and helpful overall. We enjoyed our stay. I hope they change the pillows and soundproof the room a bit more in future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nevada747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#59 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#40 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#25 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albion Hotel
#66 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#67 of 95 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Property: Acorn Hotel
Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing