We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acorn Hotel
Ranked #38 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

excellent location , walk up sauchiehall street and you are there , not the busiest hotel , but who cares , the guy at the reception was warm and welcoming , my room was what shall i say aseptically clean , good supply of booze at reasonable prices , enjoyed my bottle of Moet ,excellent value for money . Keep it up

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashutosh91072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    139
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
20
138
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I booked a single room for £51 for one night. Have stayed at plenty of places elsewhere that charge twice the price for half the quality. Pleasant spacious room and bathroom, good breakfast, nice area, friendly reception. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AlexJCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this very pleasant small hotel in the west end of Glasgow. The west end is definitely the more attractive and less frenetic of the locations to stay assuming you don't mind being off the main drag as regards the big shops and the more fashionable late night bars and clubs. If you are coming from the airport don't get the 500 airport bus ( like we did) get the 746 which stops in the west side of the M8 nearer the bottom of Elderslie Road. The hotel? Well we had a nicely decorated twin room with a smart bathroom. Beds were comfortable and the heating was adjustable - it was cold when we stayed and the room was fine at night. A walk-in shower, good quality TV, drinks making facilities were provided. Breakfasts were pretty good freshly cooked to order. Several good restaurants 10 minutes walk away on Argyll street and one really nice Indian/Scottish at the bottom of the street. Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpinahed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

First time to Glasgow. George who was on the desk provided maps, directions and advice which prove very useful in helping us to find our way around Glasgow. Good Bus connection to Glasgow airport nearby. George was very friendly and helpful overall. We enjoyed our stay. I hope they change the pillows and soundproof the room a bit more in future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nevada747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh u
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff are incredibly helpful, polite and kind. Our double room was well heated, clean, reasonable size, good shower, and comfortable. Plenty of choice at breakfast and delicious. I would seriously recommend this hotel. I plan to visit it again in the future. You won't be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We received a warm friendly welcome, checked in and shown to our room within 2 minutes, given an extremely helpful explanation of the location of Hotel in relation to nearby attractions, restaurants & bus routes.
Our room on the first floor was well proportioned, warm and spotlessly clean. At breakfast the next morning we received the same warm friendly welcome, good food, well presented and efficiently served. Bed & Breakfast at this Hotel is excellent value for money.
Overall an extremely pleasant experience with the added bonus of great customer service which can be lacking in much larger establishments . A real ' Home from Home'.

Room Tip: We were delighted with our room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0rgan1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is good value for money and young George made the difference.
Breakfast was well presented George cooked this well (recommend the poached eggs).
The balconey's could have been cleaned. There is some traffic noise from the streets but the hotel itself is quiet.
A lot of good restaurants at a walkable distance and kelvingrove park is a hop away.
The room was a bit tiny and the shower tinier still - but the loo and bathroom were clean. The towels were clean.
The room was warm

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand-keele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#58 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#46 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#24 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albion Hotel
#66 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#67 of 95 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Property: Acorn Hotel
Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing