We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acorn Hotel
Ranked #38 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh u
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff are incredibly helpful, polite and kind. Our double room was well heated, clean, reasonable size, good shower, and comfortable. Plenty of choice at breakfast and delicious. I would seriously recommend this hotel. I plan to visit it again in the future. You won't be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    139
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
20
138
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We received a warm friendly welcome, checked in and shown to our room within 2 minutes, given an extremely helpful explanation of the location of Hotel in relation to nearby attractions, restaurants & bus routes.
Our room on the first floor was well proportioned, warm and spotlessly clean. At breakfast the next morning we received the same warm friendly welcome, good food, well presented and efficiently served. Bed & Breakfast at this Hotel is excellent value for money.
Overall an extremely pleasant experience with the added bonus of great customer service which can be lacking in much larger establishments . A real ' Home from Home'.

Room Tip: We were delighted with our room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0rgan1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is good value for money and young George made the difference.
Breakfast was well presented George cooked this well (recommend the poached eggs).
The balconey's could have been cleaned. There is some traffic noise from the streets but the hotel itself is quiet.
A lot of good restaurants at a walkable distance and kelvingrove park is a hop away.
The room was a bit tiny and the shower tinier still - but the loo and bathroom were clean. The towels were clean.
The room was warm

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand-keele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed one night in this small quiet hotel. Very nice clean room with tea and coffee making facilities and lots of drawer and hanging space with more hangers than I've ever seen in any hotel. My kind of mindset! There was a safe in the room and an efficient hairdryer and even hair styler/straighteners. The bed was comfortable. The room was warm and cosy,had an en suite shower room with lots of space, modern design and a nice warm towel rail. The breakfast was freshly made to order and delicious. Our host was a real gentleman offering help with directions and suggested attractions. We would definitely recommend this amazing little hotel in a quiet part of town. We would stay here again and give top marks for location and value for money. Next time we may ask for a different room as the road was a shade noisy in the early hours with traffic but this was a minor annoyance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night in this hotel and must say it was a very pleasant stay. The front door is key card operated so I was met by the receptionist who led me into the small lobby and checked me in within 2 minutes. Very friendly, gave me a street map and showed me how to get to the city centre (15 minute walk). The hotel is in a quiet area and I felt comfortable walking back by myself after midnight.

I stayed in a single room which was street facing. There was hardly any street noise, in fact the only noise I heard was from next door's tv. My room was very small and felt cramped, but the bed was comfortable and it was modern. Same goes for the bathroom, which had a great power shower. I can't comment on the breakfast as I had an early checkout.

The hotel has free wifi and for the price I paid (£45) I thought it was great value. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ell33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed for night of the recent scotland game.Nice hotel clean rooms lovely hot shower and a great breakfast. Could not ask for more and great value for the price. Will def be back for any events in Glasgow as it sits nicely on edge of city towards the west end.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpooyderg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We are a mature couple who often visit Glasgow and the West End. This little hotel is simply great value for overnight stays. Clean, compact, refurbished recently. Our room was smallish but smart. Great shower and bed. Nice quiet area at night. Just great!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggy124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#46 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#25 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albion Hotel
#66 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#67 of 95 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Property: Acorn Hotel
Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing