We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acorn Hotel
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night in this hotel and must say it was a very pleasant stay. The front door is key card operated so I was met by the receptionist who led me into the small lobby and checked me in within 2 minutes. Very friendly, gave me a street map and showed me how to get to the city centre (15 minute walk). The hotel is in a quiet area and I felt comfortable walking back by myself after midnight.

I stayed in a single room which was street facing. There was hardly any street noise, in fact the only noise I heard was from next door's tv. My room was very small and felt cramped, but the bed was comfortable and it was modern. Same goes for the bathroom, which had a great power shower. I can't comment on the breakfast as I had an early checkout.

The hotel has free wifi and for the price I paid (£45) I thought it was great value. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ell33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    145
    42
    13
    6
See reviews for
23
150
51
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed for night of the recent scotland game.Nice hotel clean rooms lovely hot shower and a great breakfast. Could not ask for more and great value for the price. Will def be back for any events in Glasgow as it sits nicely on edge of city towards the west end.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpooyderg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We are a mature couple who often visit Glasgow and the West End. This little hotel is simply great value for overnight stays. Clean, compact, refurbished recently. Our room was smallish but smart. Great shower and bed. Nice quiet area at night. Just great!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggy124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Excellent Hotel...very clean..massive bathroom and power shower, very quiet location but near to city centre. Excellent Breakfast and thoroughly enjoyable stay and will definitely be returning for future breaks. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I found this hotel by chance, as most others that I usually booked with were full because of the Juventas/Celtic game.
It's very accessible, just behind the Mitchell Library, but nice and quiet. Staff were very friendly. Room was lovely decor, comfortable bed, with a power shower. The rest of the decor in the hotel was also very nice. Great Breakfast too. I will definitely stay again if I can. My room was first floor, which I also liked and had a nice view onto the side of the hotel. There was a restaurant next door which was a bonus for me being on my own.

Room Tip: By the look of the main parts of the Hotel any room would be fine. I just happen to like ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Andrews
Level Contributor
342 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

It must have been all that concrete in the motorways that encircle Glasgow that zapped my inner satellite navigation because-when I did, eventually, get my feet on the right trail it was very easy to find.
I had come by bus to where I was working that weekend but gave up on the trying to find my way through the labyrinthine roads and flagged down a taxi. I had thought I'd get a better idea of the territory but as the taxi driver took me by another route (yep! I know they have to earn a dime!) which didn't give me any more visual feedback, I resolved to get to grips by walking it after I'd got my room sorted out.
The busy receptionist was helpful, likewise a Nice Man whose ideas about women not being able to read maps was being Quite Justified by me!
By the time I left, the following day, I'd gained enough experience through treading the pavements that I'm now an expert in finding this small hotel.
The rooms have an attractive decor, with a hairdrier and hair tongues (well, I guess that's what they were) and my bed was comfortable.
I'd have preferred some digestive biscuits to the jam-filled ones,though.
The breakfast was good, but the coffee not to my taste. Still, I do go hunting the best beans, nowadays:a personal whim.
Would I say again? Yes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busybee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Anytime i stay in Glasgow, the Acorn is my preferred choice of hotel. Recent 2 night stay on business in room 14 (top floor, corner) yet again confirmed this. I like the fact that it is a very friendly hotel, and small enough to be personal.....it feels like a B&B, in a really nice way. Rooms are very well appointed, and small touches make a difference e.g nice biscuits, toiletries etc. Great value for money. Hotel is in a quieter part of Glasgow, yet only 1.5miles from the centre, either a 20min brisk walk or a £5 taxi ride. Some very nice restaurants just at the end of the road. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Only small (-) point was the reception closes at night and does not reopen until 7.30am, as i realised when i tried to get a cab at 7am, but not a big issue in the grand scheme of things and would certainly not put me off staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunyp37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Albion Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Property: Acorn Hotel
Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing