We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant little hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acorn Hotel
Ranked #40 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel, and I was again really pleased with the service and the quality of the accommodation. The rooms I have seen are small but I really like the decor and my bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is ok and I have seen better, but they have what I like (muesli, yoghurt, toast) and are happy to provide a cooked breakfast. The coffee isn't very good, and I don't like television at breakfast, but it wasn't very loud.. The service was efficient and friendly. I like that the hotel is quite small and quiet. At £66 per night it's excellent value, and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    144
    42
    13
    6
See reviews for
22
149
51
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

PLUSES
Reasonable price GBP 70 per night
Good breakfast
Location fairly close in, accessible to bus, next to Kelvingrove Park
Clean.
Good bed.
Fast internet included in the price.
Decaf coffee with the kettle in the room.
Liked it enough to stay there a second time.

MINUSES
Tiny room.
Had to buy our own soy milk for special diet

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank energizer0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was reasonably priced, nice decor and modern bathroom. However, the girl on reception could have been more friendly and welcoming.
But my biggest problem is that there was no hot water, which in my opinion is a very important indeed. I had to boil the kettle in the room to have a wash which is totally unacceptable.
I reported this to reception and the girl didn't seemed surprised at all and just said she would report it, I didn't even get as mush as a sorry.
I travel to Glasgow with work a lot and would have stated again, but no hot water and poor customer service, I think not!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

A hotel with friendly and obliging staff. Good breakfast well prepared and presented. Had a room with sash windows on the ground floor. Impossible to open the windows, possibly for security reasons, but it resulted in an uncomfortably stuffy night. Bedding was good but on the heavy side which didn't help for a comfortable nights sleep on a warm night. Otherwise no issues.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mela1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I recently stayed at the acorn hotel for a couple of nights. Its clean, comfortable and modern. Both Charlie and Naomi on reception were great and were allways willing to help. Location is great, close to city centre. Small hotel but not a boutique, it does lack atmosphere. It was nice to have breakfast freshly cooked but the ingredients seemed cheap and there wasnt as big an option as I had expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_TT_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Service was good. We arrived prior to check-in and were able to store our bags with the reception. If you decide to take a shower in the afternoon or evening, the water temperature may be cold - from our understanding, the hot water is on a timer and if you phone down to reception, they will adjust the timer accordingly. Overall decent stay - clean, spacious rooms. If accessibility is an issue, ask to book on first floor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at the acorn for two nights while visiting friends in glasgow, I booked last minute on the hotel website and was worried as I arrived later than planned at 9.15pm that it would be too late to check in. Although when I arrived the manager Charlie could not have been more helpful, he explained everything I needed to know about the local amenities and showed me to my immaculate room. For the price I could not believe the standard of the room or the additional perks like GHD straighteners! The bathroom was lovely, really good shower and fluffy white towels. Slept soundly on the comfy bed and really glad I booked breakfast as it was one of the best I've had. I ordered a full breakfast that was huge, it was all delicious with tasty bacon and hash browns, It was piping hot and on a warm plate so stayed that way. I was shocked when I realised it was Charlie that was also cooking the breakfast and even more so when I was leaving for the day to see him back on reception. Just can't believe the value for money, for the standard of cleanliness, fittings, breakfast and location, will most definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#59 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Albion Hotel
#62 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Property: Acorn Hotel
Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing