We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gluten free goodies available”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tapa Coffeehouse

Tapa Coffeehouse
Ranked #24 of 104 Coffee & Tea in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gluten free goodies available”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Am coeliac so need Gluten free cakes and this cafe does at least 2 freshly baked gluten free cakes every day. The raspberry polenta cafe was great and the tea is good and they have free wi-fi as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    34
    9
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bread and beans”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Tapa is an odd one every time I go I get a different tapa! But the coffee is splendid and the south side needs good coffee! Food was ok service not as good as it used to be! but ok

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some of the best coffee in Glasgow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Along with Artisan Roast and the new Papercup in the West End Tapa definitely offers some of the best coffee in Glasgow. They roast their own beans and the coffee you get is pretty much always excellently prepared. The food is lovely too and the bread from their bakery is worth a try. Also i've never had a problem with the service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Customers not necessary”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have visited Tapa about half a dozen times but have always found any member of staff fairly grumpy and have felt an inconvenience. I have a friend with a toddler who simply won't return there now as she feels same - on one time that I was with her there we waited so long to be served that we began to take it personally. On my latest visit I ordered a warmed croissant and it was actually black inside. I asked for another one - and was greeted with a surly lip-curl which I took to be an "OK then". I'm not a great cook but I can heat a croissant without blackening it.

I know Tapa sells great bread but I think they rely on this great reputation to treat customers really poorly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sofargoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roquefort les Pins, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top Notch Coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The cakes and sandwiches are nice in this place but the coffee is superb, highly recommend a trip.

Staff are very nice too...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapa Coffeehouse also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Tapa Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing