We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whisky Galore!”

Oranmor A Celebration Of Scotland
Ranked #648 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: West End
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Whisky Galore!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We enjoyed a quick lunchtime drink at this unusual watering hole after a jaunt around the Botanic Gardens. Great to note that this attractive church was saved from abandonment and successfully converted into, by all accounts, a vibrant arts centre, live music venue, pub and restaurant. Beautiful original features, friendly staff on our visit and an impressive choice if you're partial to a drop of the hard stuff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kensmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    127
    57
    27
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Only been in for drinks but it was alright, there was some nice music on and it feels quite warm. Do feel it's slightly over rated though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go on a Sunday”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We took a £10 taxi ride each way to find that you could only order from the £12.95 three course Set Sunday menu. This was not stated on the website or made clear when we booked. We were on a special weekend in Glasgow and the set menu was a major let down. We had even chosen our food from the A la carte menu and only when the waitress took our order did she tell us it was only the set menu, despite us asking her for more time earlier as we perused the A la carte menu!
The table was sticky, the food average and the choice on the set menu was pub grub fayre.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Willie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What am I missing?”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Not sure why this place is so popular. I mean, it's fine, but it's just fine. It's too big and impersonal for me, the acoustics are terrible, it's kind of grubby feeling, and the minute the sun comes out you'll never get a seat. The food is rubbish. I never go here any more. But lots of people seem to like it, so maybe i've missed something. I think maybe middle-aged people like it? People who live in Bearsden or somewhere? I always think they're from Bearsden, but I don't know why I think that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MargotinGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“GLASGOW WEST END INSTITUTION.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The oran Mor has become a Glasgow institution..
The re-invented church is a centre piece of the university area of Glasgows' west end.

This is a great place for a drink, or meal, in baronial surroundings, as well as outside, when the weather is good enough, where you can watch the world go by at this very busy junction of Byres rd, and great Western rd.

Downstrairs, the lower auditorium is widely used for concerts and the ever popular series of lunchtime plays called, 'A pie, a play and a pint'... another Glasgow institution in its own right! Upstairs there is another beautiful function room, come auditorium, which is often used for large weddings, but also some gigs as well.

My only negative is prices, which are a bit above the norm, but it is a great place, so you would expect that.. it is not so expensive as to stop you going though!
The main bar actually gets very busy after midnight at weekends, as it opens till about 2am, when most other Byres rd pubs have closed, and people gravitate up to the Oran Mor.

A highly recommended venue for any visitor to Glasgow and its famous West End.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oranmor A Celebration Of Scotland also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Oranmor A Celebration Of Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing