We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money trip to glasgow.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Great value for money trip to glasgow.”
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We came to glasgow to meet family and some relaxation before new year. Stayed at the best western for 2 nights for which we paid 78quid. We were allowed to check-in at 10.15am because our room was ready and and the guy on reception was very helpful. Although scottish breakfast isn't served, a complimentary "grab and go" breakfast is provided in the lounge consisting of pastries, toast, coffee, fruit, biscuits etc. and was certainly enough to get you going. We were then given complimentary wine and snack as a night cap. The room was small and would probably become uncomfortable if staying for more than couple of days but fine. Good location- about 10 min walk from central sation and 5 mins from centre of glasgow - charing cross station. Would definitely stay again at these rates but wouldnt pay published hotel rates.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleNicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    275
    178
    59
    43
See reviews for
66
267
95
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

From the outside (and on a few websites) this hotel promises comfort and even a hint of luxury just outside Glasgow's business district. Inside is quite a different story: a definite hint of Fawlty Towers about it, with tiny guest rooms, a hilariously sub-par breakfast (to be enjoyed in, uh, the lobby, or perhaps on the street), and bewildered staff. If you need a place to rest your head after a night on Sauchiehall Street, go for it: if you're planning on being awake in the hotel for more than 30 minutes, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treppenwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

The room (standard double) was actually a really decent size, and in excellent condition. There was a complimentary bottle of wine in my room, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location was excellent - 10 minutes walk to the main bars on St Vincents. Just wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Not sure where to start with this place. It was conveniently located to where I had to be. It's right near Charing Cross station but also very close to center of Glasgow. I felt safe in the area. The hotel however had no internet. This is very important for me while traveling. The rooms tiny. I would have to say this hotel is a step up from a hostel. You can close your door and get a room key. I was not impressed and would not stay here again. The price I paid was barely acceptable even for this quality.
They do try hard, staff is very kind, they have a great 'grab and go' breakfast but if you want to relax and not worry about things pay a little more.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babenoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Stayed just for 1 night but terrible experience. Got room 108 (most cramped room) with barely any space to walk around. poor ventillation. tried to talk to reception staff for alternate room but very poor courtesy. curt and firm "NO". even in the morning the other lady at reception wasnt very nice when I enquired about breakfast. Talking of breakfast, very basic. few slices of bread, croissants and muffins. orange juice and coffee. and its more of a lounge than dining room. Moreover NO FREE PARKING. have to pay quite a few quid for road/nearby paid parking. overall poor experience and definitely not value for money

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drkamath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Stayed here on business for two nights and got a good rate. I have stayed in a lot of Glasgow hotels so have to be consistent in my reviewing of t6his hotel in comparison with others in the same price bracket. Firtsly the hotel location is pretty good, just off the M8 and within walking distance of Sauchiehall Street and the city centre. There was a problem with my booking, but the receptionist was excellent in resolving it and I was issued a room on the lower floor. The corridors etc looked a little bit tatty and old school, but the room was very clean, spacious and had decent facilities. Only gripe was toilet seat broken and room was very warm and window looked out onto a car park, but it was very comfortable. Breakfast was a very basic grab and go continental and I only discovered that some basic hot food (dinner) was available on my second night, there is no bar, or lounge or place to sit and eat, but there are numerous nearby. I think compared to other hotels, where the rooms may be just as good or better, the facilities are not, but as a place simply to sleep in a comfortable modern room, then this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stairpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgamworth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Located on Elmbank Street,just off top end of Bath Street.
Straight off the Motorway no problems.Free parking after six monday to saturday outside hotel and free all day sunday or NCP car park round the corner.
Receptionist was very helpful,arrived about 11 am room wasn't ready but offered
to take our luggage if we wanted. Great location for shops and theatre. After afternoon
of shopping,arrived at hotel,great service. Rooms much better than we expected for what we paid (43.00 for double room from laterooms.com) Very modern,flat screen tv.
complimentary small bottle of wine and pringles. very very clean. Great coming back into the centre as it was halloween,wonderful sites of everyone dressed up. the guest lounge has a faltt screen tv, and you can help yourself to free coffee or tea!
great nights sleep,beds very comfortable,check out not until 11.00 am. complimentary grab and go breakfast,you could actually sit down in the guest lounge,mixture or toast,cereal,fruit etc.
After checking out,left car outside hotel and walked back up to shops and to buchanan street and took the undergroung to the west end (£2.20 return).
Not a good day for site seeing due to the torrential rain!!
We went to Oran Mor, a beautiful church that has been converted to bar/restaurant downstairs and upstairs is used for performing arts and live music.
Great place. Very spacious. Staff very friendly. Food was magnificant and a good price.
There was eight of us, not one complaint about the food, which ranged from steak,fishnchips,homemade burger and chips. Back to hotel as we had left something in the room,saw how wet we all were and even offered to let us use the lounge
for a free cuppa!!

If you want a great hotel, in a great location, this is it 10/10

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adderleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
1,813 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#44 of 95 in Glasgow
1,566 reviews
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#79 of 95 in Glasgow
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow City Hotel

Property: Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 27 Elmbank Street, Glasgow G2 4PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel Scotland
Glasgow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing