We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glasgow City Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #56 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The staff was excellent and very helpful -no matter what your request. The room was a bit drab. The windows were very high so you really couldn't look out - but there was really nothing to see but the back end of another building. The internet was faulty and really wasn't very reliable except in the lobby or lounge. Although very close to the Charing Cross station, I believed the hotel to be closer to the downtown area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 750 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel has a great location in the Charing Cross area of Glasgow. It is a "metro" hotel so no restaurant but plenty of places to eat locally. Quite a bit of building work going on in the area so be prepared for an early awakening!
Rooms we're clean and comfortable although it was clear some rooms were bigger than others. Reception staff polite and helpful.. Breakfast is self service served in a nice room in the basement. Good selection.
No lift but staff happy to assist with baggage. There are ground floor rooms although there are steps up to the front door. Would certainly use this hotel again..

Room Tip: Rooms do seem to vary. Room 203 was a beautiful room although as it was on the front of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mediclondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Nice friendly place just minutes on foot from Sauchiehall Street. Decor's a bit run down, and the rooms at the front do have street noise so bring ear-plugs, but my De-Luxe room was very big and everything was in good working order. Breakfast was standard hotel fare, but fresh and good quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

From the word go with Grant checking us in , I knew this would be great . Excellent staff , great location . large room with a view of the slate tiling on the next roof over . I admired the workmanship . Absolutely great service & room . Highly recommend !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iangetoverhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I have stayed here twice this year and been impressed with the set up of the rooms and cleanliness, my first visit the receptionist was not very helpful. However, my second visit the receptionist was very welcoming and a great help to us as we're not from Glasgow. We had a room for four, which was very spacious however things such as only having two mugs for coffees and radiators that didn't work (the room was very cold!!) let it down. Also, there is a very nice front room at the hotel, but you can get hotels for the same price if not cheaper that have a bar or even a coffee machine here where as there was not this option here. I would stay again at this hotel, but there is definitely better options for the same price with more facilities and essentials.

Room Tip: family rooms are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 93Emma-HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Not a great start when I was told that I had turned up too early to check in at 1200 and that there was nothing that could be done before 1400. To be fair there was a room that became available shortly after which I was given, a fairly cramped and gloomy one with a view of a wall through a small high window (220). Don't accept it if you are offered it.

I certainly don't understand the gushing reports of reception staff. They were not in evidence on this visit, however they were perfectly fine.

Breakfast was a buffet and, while not extensive, was good. There was a English option as well as cereals, a little fruit and a few croissants. There is a bean to cup coffee machine.

Location was good and central. There is a reasonable selection of restaurants to the north and
theatres too.

Price was nothing to write home about at nearly £110 for a poky room free from any view.

Cleanliness was good.

A good complimentary wifi connection is available as is tea and coffee. There is a small fridge provided too.

Noise was acceptable but not great. You I could certainly hear the corridor traffic and street noise was ever present as the window had to be kept open to prevent overheating. There is no thermostat and only a rather over enthusiastic Victorian radiator.

The bathroom was good and clean, although the ventilation was nonexistent from the hopeless ceiling extractor fan.

So, it's fine but not special. It has lots more charm than a Premier Inn, but is not what some reports rate it as. Perhaps a better room would have improved my rating, although if this is representative of the others then you might want to consider a stay at her majesty's pleasure as better value. Don't turn up before 1400. It's against the rules! Caveat Emptor.

Room Tip: Don't accept 220!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlbUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,031 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 27 Elmbank Street, Glasgow G2 4PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $39 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel Scotland
Glasgow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing