We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #56 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stopped for two nights B&B, Room 217 I have stayed before so I knew of what can be, or may not be, Depending on the room, It was a double room on the 1st floor. The only downside was the wardrobe was very tight on opening on one door as it was very close to the bed, Good for a stay but not for a romantic setting or to impress, It does what it says a bed and breakfast.
The Breakfast is very presentable in a small lounge with the food self service opposite, Staff very friendly and polite and are good with smiles, Hotel is well located to a couple of Rail Stations, Bus Route, taxi's and some Night life for a show, drink or eat, Good free street parking 18:00 to 08:00 (depending on shows) but usually good after 22:00 (a multi story car park £1.50 between 18:00 to 08:00 if pre pay on foot exit) However Street parking 60p for 15 Mins (Max 2hrs) or expensive using multi park, Close to major roads and 10 mins from Central Station. Overall Will revisit, as good pricing, Good Staff, Good Location, and good budget hotel

Room Tip: Rooms can be good some can be limited, dark Decor, Good Freeview but reception depends on room locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lufc0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 750 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

I very much enjoyed my 2-night stay which I thought good value for money. The room and en-suite bathroom were both large and well laid out and the shower unit was both easy to use and effective; the bed was large and comfortable. There was a flat screen TV.
Breakfast was good both in terms of quality and quantity.

The only negatives were the lack of a bar, although drinks are served in the lounge and the washbasin in the bathroom which is set at a very low level. This would not bother most people, but as I have muscular problems, it made shaving difficult.However, three positives outshone any small faults - 1. The exceptional friendliness of the staff, especially Debbie at reception.2. An excellent coffee machine available 24/7. What a difference from the usual instant rubbish!3. An arrangement with the nearby"Torres Tapas Restaurant" which gives hotel clients 20% discount - I saved £8.00.

Room Tip: Basement rooms are quieter and near the breakfast room and the coffee machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drummerboyDunoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Booked on saturday stayed on sunday. We were going to a show at the Kings Theatre and this hotel is less than a minute walk.
We booked a double room , it was average size , comfortable and clean. Everything worked and it had the tea and coffee in room.
The room was quiet and we only ever saw another guest once.
The reception staff were helpful and advised us on nearby parking . They marked our ticket for 40% off. Thank you Deborah.
We did not have breakfast as we booked room only.
We have stayed at several other hotels in this area and this was the cheapest. Good value !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockfan1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have been staying here for a few weeks now, I find the staff friendly and helpful .
I have stayed in a variety of the rooms, some better than others, but always spotlessly clean and a nice big comfy bed.

the basement rooms are a little smaller but a bit dark - this is mainly due to the privacy film on the windows, an obvious necessity though

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are generally lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

hotel reception staff very welcoming and helpful. we got a lovely large room on the ground floor i was a little worried as i am a very light sleeper but found it not to noisy at all. bed was very large and comfortable. room spotless, bathroom bright with a very good shower and large white fluffy towels. hotel a little out of city center but close to succihall street which is a very lively street at weekends. good for west end and right next to kings theater.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dublinguber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

If by any chance you are put in ground floor rooms, such as 111 or 110, run for your life. First night we were put in what probably was a closet, with a broken matress, We were transferred to one with a decent bed at midnight after arguments, and after we were told "no other rooms (or closets...) available".
Later we were transferred to top floor room 304, where hotel photos were taken. Nice and decent room, non comparable to previous rooms.
Breakfast is below english standards.

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms in ground floor 111 or 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank israelifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in a 'superior' twin room in the basement, and the room was clean and spacious, but a little dark. . The TV was not working to begin with, but that was very quickly solved. Not so easy to fix however was the lack of wireless internet in the bowels of the hotel, and whilst the staff couldn't be more helpful in trying to sort it out, we had no wifi in our room for our stay. The main problem with this room is the fact that directly outside the bedroom is the unofficial smoking area, complete with noisy access from fire door and bench to sit on in the gravel ashtray. To have smokers slamming the door shut and chatting noisily outside your window at 4, 5 and 6 am is not conducive to a good nights sleep. Followed by the laundry man collecting and delivering at 6.30 am over the scrunchy gravel and through the same slamming fire door was the end to any hope of sleep. Our only offer of any compensation was the offer of an upgrade if we should decide to return, which is unlikey. Removing the bench and making the door emergency use only wuold be a step in the right direction. I would have liked a proportion of my £102 refunded.

Room Tip: Basement rooms have no wifi and are noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearsrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,031 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 27 Elmbank Street, Glasgow G2 4PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $43 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel Scotland
Glasgow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing