We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a last-minute deal.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Hightae
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value for a last-minute deal.”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I booked this hotel on the day we travelled up to Glasgow and got it at an excellent price. As a last-minute bargain I wasn't expecting the best room in the place and so wasn't particularly bothered by the lack of a view and the extremely small bathroom. The ground floor bedroom itself was small but clean, well-maintained and comfortable, with a decent selection of TV channels and adequate storage and furniture. Although the room was very warm the windows opened fully onto a central courtyard/light-well and there was an efficient, quiet desk fan provided. Unlike another reviewer, I wasn't worried about the fact that one window didn't have a lock for 'secure' opening as I couldn't see any easy way for anyone to get in due to the enclosed nature of the space outside and the height of the window itself.

The hotel is located literally two minutes from Sauchiehall Street and almost all of Glasgow's main shopping areas, theatres, nightclubs and other attractions are within walking distance or a short taxi journey. There is also a multi-story car park very close by and the hotel will provide a voucher for a much-reduced rate. Our car was parked from Friday evening to Monday morning and it cost us less than £15. We didn't eat at the hotel as there were so many restaurants and other food outlets so close by, but the staff we had contact with were friendly and efficient.

I've stayed in everything from hostels to five-star hotels and, to be completely honest, it would have been nice to have had enough space to open the bathroom door fully (the towel rail prevented it from doing so), a decent glass instead of a plastic tumbler that was so thin that it split when I took it out of the packaging, and bath taps that were easier to reach (someone shorter than me would have had to get into the bath to reach past the glass shower screen). On the other hand, we spent a fair bit of time in the room due to atrociously wet weather and were quite comfortable. There was some noise from the corridor outside and from the nearby stairs but I expect that from an older building and it didn't disturb us. I'd definitely stay there again but would expect a better room if paying full price.

Room Tip: Book early for a bigger room, but if size and view are less important the late deals are excellent v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    276
    178
    59
    43
See reviews for
66
268
95
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My husband and I loved the location of this hotel. It was close to many pubs and restaurants and short cab rides from St. George Square (or about 15-20 min walk).
When we arrived, it was very early in the morning. We attempted to have expedia phone the hotel to arrange for an early check in. Understanding of course that they may not be able to accomodate. They did take our bags so we could tour around. However, we came back shortly after noon as we were too tired to continue walking around at this point. They had other rooms avaliable but they would not let us switch to a room that was already clean and ready, we had to keep the room we were assigned, even after having expedia call and us requesting.
The rooms were small but to be expected. It still had everything we needed. All in all it was a good hotel. The breakfast they serve was very good however, make sure if you book it's included with the room. They will charge you if not.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky9533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed here for one night on business. Room was fine if a bit dark due to the tiny window looking out onto a brick wall 3 feet away. As a solo business traveller I wasn't bothered - not so good for a romantic weekend or city break though ! Great location at the West end of the city centre, and a good deal going with the nearby multi storey car park. Staff friendly and helpful. Bizarre problem as others have mentioned with hot water coming out of the cold tap, not a major issue, but makes you wonder about the plumbing system. The hot breakfast wasn't, which was disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This has got to be the WORST HOTEL I have ever stayed in! The ground floor rooms have very small windows with no locks, so they cant be opened and secured. This results in you spending a very uncomfortable night, in a very warm room. They are below street level, so no light gets in. The bed looked and felt as though it had been slept in by a million people recently and sagged badly in the middle, result - very uncomfortable, little sleep. The standard of cleanliness leaves alot to be desired, hair stuck to the (very small) bathroom walls and water on the floor. Reception occasionally manned by disinterested and tired looking staff. No gym, no restaurant, expensive bar, noisy, overpriced etc etc.

Room Tip: Dont stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmac515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGCH, Operations Manager at Best Western Glasgow City Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the hotel. I am disappointed to hear that this was the worst hotel you have ever stayed in. My staff and I are always concerned when we do not exceed our guests' expectations. I appreciate that you found the rooms very small for your liking, we use our smaller doubles for sole occupancy and we try and equip our rooms with the essentials that are needed for a comfortable stay. The windows have a security feature that only allows them to open a certain amount and this would not be wide enough for anyone to enter. We are currently replacing many of our beds and installing mattress toppers for guest comfort. With regard to reception not being manned, please accept my sincere apologies this is not the normal standard of service we offer and I will investigate why this occurred. We are always looking to improve the hotel and give our guests the best possible experience and I’m very sorry that this was not the case with you. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and are focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you In the future.
Best Wishes
Ivan Mulholland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Middlesbrough
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights and couldn't fault it excellent location and service, wish we could say the same for the weather! Nice rooms, comfortable beds and staff friendly. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberAcklam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloppenburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We booked a family room right at the reception of the hotel. It turned out that the toilet flush didn`t work properly. So we claimed this and and they changed the arangement into two spacy double rooms on the 1st floor and did not charge this extra!

We were fully satisfied with that service! The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast good. There is a parking house just a few meters beside where we left our car. A lot of restaurants in the area and the inner city within foot distance.

We recommend this for a Glasgow city trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Good price, Well Located for Glasgow Motorway, Centre & Train Stations
good location for entertainment, Breakfast food self service better than average, Staff friendly, Rooms dark but well furnished, Seem clean and well attended, Will use again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lufc0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#79 of 95 in Glasgow
552 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
537 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 95 in Glasgow
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow City Hotel

Property: Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 27 Elmbank Street, Glasgow G2 4PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel Scotland
Glasgow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing