We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously wonderful”
Review of Lamora Restaurant - CLOSED

Lamora Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Seriously wonderful”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I was taken to this restaurant by some friends and loved it so much I returned the following day. It's an Italian restaurant with a lovely atmosphere, really good food and excellent service. These days it's rare to find a place with such a sense of pride in what it does. Lamora is a must, and the people of Glasgow are very fortunate indeed.

Helpful?
Thank Roman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    75
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lamora in November”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I came here for a return visit on November the 2nd they were very busy but the food and service was good as always. They seemed to have added new dishes to the menu so we tried something different,I had the marinated seafood for a starter and my husband had calamari and prawns,my main was scallops with dumplings and prawns, and my husband had the chicken and vegetables,we both enjoyed our meals very much as is the norm.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesleydougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
237 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“the menu changes daily”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Glasgow and immediately went to sleep. Several hours later we woke to find it dark. We were hungry. We went out the door in search of a place to eat. We stumbled into Lamora. How lucky we were. We liked it so much we returned a second time when we returned to Glasgow. It is a small place with staff that attends to you as if you were family. The menu changes daily and the seafood is good as are the Italian dishes. A small place that provides warmth and charm. Many locals dine here. It is in easy walking distance of many West end hotels and B&Bs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msl50birm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I must have past this restaurant hundreds of times and not once gave a thought to going in.My mistake

Its a smashing restaurant with a cracking menu and friendly and attentive staff.

The place was really busy ( another good sign ) but the service was fast and brisk.

I had the king prawns with all the trimmings and they sure were King prawns.

$64,000 dollar question would I go back.................. most certainly

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very good meal”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I live in Glasgow and walked past this place which is in the new really nice bar and restaurant part of Finnieston. The food was so good I went back next weekend I had seafood with gnocchi it was £15.95 and just the best large scallops and large king prawns I have had in a very long time. This was about the most expensive item on the menu most pizza and pasta was under a tenner. A spacious modern interior, really nice staff. Good wine for £13 or so.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShuggieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamora Restaurant also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing