We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALWAYS VERY GOOD FOOD AND FRIENDLY SERVICE”
Review of Lamora Restaurant - CLOSED

Lamora Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“ALWAYS VERY GOOD FOOD AND FRIENDLY SERVICE”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We eat well at home and when we eat out we want to eat as well if not better . La Mora or Lamora always produces better than my home cooking . This occasion fritura was shared starter . Very generous portion - because we are regulars? Chicken 'Brisacola' ( unsure of name) was good and veal chop was excellent , if a tad expensive at £18 . House wine fine . Front of the house charming . Service with smile from 'Silvano' even though rushed off his feet! A beer in Brewdog and a meal in La Mora . Heaven on a mean street!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobessonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    75
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“good italian lively cosmopolitan atmosphere”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We visited on a Saturday for a pre theatre and were again impressed by the service and "feelgood" atmosphere engendered in this lively little restaurant.The young waitresses were efficient and friendly backed up by "poppa" a lively Italian patron who kept a benevolent eye on all and was quick to respond to customers needs.The menu was sufficient for us and having eaten here before we were well satisfied with the Italian section,however we decided to try the rib eye steaks which were tender and delicious.The starters of pate and minestrone were faultless and all in all we had a happy and relaxed evening in a comfortable and well run restaurant.Will return

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank egonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really great food, excellent value!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

It's always a pleasure to dine in this excellent restaurant: we've been many times and the ambiance, menu and wine list never disappoint. The young staff are vibrant and cheery, the proprietor is charming and forgiving of my pathetic attempts to speak Italian. The chefs (I think the proprietor's sons) turn out great dishes.

The standard menu is full of delights, the lobster ravioli is amazingly good and the 'frittura' is always prepared to perfection, no overcooked or rubbery bits of calamari here! Cozze (mussels) again are always prepared properly (so easy to overcook). Last week our two main courses (veal chops and saltimbocca) were delicious.

In addition, there are always several new dishes on the blackboard. Wines are usually Italian, tasty, good value and cover a variety of palates and wallets.

We'll always go back because meals here are an event worth savouring without breaking the bank.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weirdavenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lamora never dissappoints”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have been to many restaurants to Glasgow but this one is exceptional so I am writing my first review to Lamora! Looking for a budget Italian restaurant that does not give away from the taste, Lamora is the spot. I have eaten so many meals, all tasted exceptional. My personal favourites are Calamari, Costata di Manzo(which is basically an 8 oz rib eye steak accompanied with potatoes and salad for only 15£) and Tagliatelle Funghi. Exceptional atmosphere for all occassions, never miss the chance to go and try Lamora, absolutely wonderful..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cypriotgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Has the potential to be rated higher”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went here for a family celebration and although busy,service was very good and staff very helpful and friendly. Good food with ample portions and no complaints from anyone in our party.
Peroni on draught available and always a winner. We got garlic bread and crusty bread at no cost and overall food bill was very acceptable.
Restaurant itself well laid out and good atmosphere.
Toilets downstairs in need of upgrading.
Only complaint is having to pay a 10% service charge because of party size.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GEORGE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamora Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing