We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Alba Lodge
Ranked #31 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This experience was a little haphazard I'll be honest. Firstly, imagine me dashing in from a taxi journey with our luggage whilst on a time-limit to get back to the centre - pouring with rain. The staff member who greeted the soaking wet, rushing woman was kind enough to let me check in later but leave the luggage there (they even took it up to our room for us).

This was pleasant enough - however the i did feel a little uncomfortable in the hotel because the staff seem to hover wherever you go, or suddenly seem to appear. The room we stayed in was plenty big enough and so comfy for the two nights we stayed in. A LOT of stairs unfortunately. The place seemed hygienic enough but not as central to the city centre as I would have liked.

Never had the breakfast, but you could smell the kitchen even if its in a basement.

All in all, I wouldn't stay as a solo traveller, and the stay was cheap enough to warrant it this time, but I don't think I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, ask for a room nearer the ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosieG90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 98 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

Value for money although wasn't as hygienic as we would have hoped, good location and very friendly staff. Bit of a trek from the entrance to our room on the top floor but the owner offered us a hand.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here back in May, when we were in Glasgow for a wedding. It was incredibly good value for money and our room was more than adequate. It was dated (fair enough),but it was clean and there was plenty of hot water, the beds were comfy and the staff were very friendly and pleasant, with some banter thrown in too! The breakfast was excellent: a huge cooked breakfast, just what the doctor ordered after a few too many wee drams! The location is awesome for Central Glasgow. The place has a lot of character: I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked this without reading the reviews. The entrance hall was dirty and untidy and the smell throughout was overpowering. We didnt get to see the room but the dirty duvet and pillows in the hall way were enough to put anyone off staying here. All i can say is avoid it or stay at your own peril

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 84OB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This place is cheap but it has no excuse to be in the state it is in. I booked this off the cuff without reading any review and I really regreted it. We were in the basement which stank of food and damp, perhaps the upper floors are better. Never again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jinroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

room was dirty smelly too many stairs which when asked about previously weren't told about.. Person denied he was manager when asked for one of the nights money back it was a resounding NO but am sure they could have conned some other unsuspecting persons to fill other room. inverness tasha .

Room Tip: make sure you read reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked 2 rooms 6 weeks in advance and when we arrived were told that they had made a mistake and didn't have rooms for us. Instead they booked us into the Willow Guesthouse just a couple of doors from them. The owner/manager? stated that he had already paid for the rooms and that we owed him 54 pounds in cash. Since we did not actually stay there we can't give a review on the rooms, but we can attest to the fact that the entry was dirty and cluttered and there was a musty smell. The Willow wasn't much better. I would avoid any accommodation on this street. It is on a hill and bus and taxi stations are very inconvenient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MemphisPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Charing Cross Guest House
Charing Cross Guest House
#19 of 35 in Glasgow
392 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,764 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alba Lodge

Address: 232 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alba Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Glasgow Set within a traditional terraced townhouse in the centre of Glasgow, this cosy guesthouse provides an excellent base from which to enjoy all that the city has to offer. Just yards away from the Charles Rennie Mackintosh inspired Glasgow School of Art, the Alba Lodge is well situated for shopping, sightseeing and the city's bustling nightlife, including theatre trips, evening dining and numerous bars and clubs. The Alba also offers excellent transport links to the SECC, Glasgow Airport, the West End and other parts of the city, making it the perfect for both business and leisure travellers. Glasgow City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping for clothes, shopping and nightlife. This is our guests' favourite part of Glasgow, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Alba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Hotel Glasgow
The Alba Lodge Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing