We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Smiths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths Hotel
Ranked #89 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great for backpackers looking for private rooms.
Lovely breakfast included with friendly breakfast staff.
Lady at reception was not so friendly which is a shame as she is the first person you meet when coming into the hotel.
A little run down but excellent location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrystal62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 435 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

GOOD: great position, close to town and excellent local pubs and cafes
BAD: rooms small and dank and have few facilities, reception staff attitude is not a reflection of Glaswegian people in general (everyone else is amazing, some Smiths staff are modern-day Basil Fawltys), access from car park and in stairwells is VERY narrow
DETAIL: This hotel is VERY old and tired (and smells dank), has poor access from car park (ie not good for large or multiple bags). Wifi is patchy and probably relies on your room position... the best strength I got was in the car park! Free parking at back is great. Breakfast choice and serving staff fast and excellent (for price) - you get your breakfast with a smile within 3 minutes of ordering!. But... the reception staff are the rudest and most unhelpful I have EVER experienced! Sad, but true. Every question is an interruption dealt with in classic Basil Falwlty style... rude, sharp and blunt responses - you are made to feel like you are interrupting their day by asking anything! For example, I wanted to leave as I had a meeting to go to, and was parked in, the receptionist said word-for-word "Do you have to leave right now, as it's a bit early (8.30am) to get people to move their car"... (have some fun and say that in a Fawlty-style voice, and you'll get what I mean!)
Be aware - you have to take ALL your valuables with you every time you leave your room as you are required to hand in your keys every time you want to leave the hotel... work that major inconvenience out!
Rooms are small, there are NO spare electrical outlets (in my room), so I had to unplug the very small TV to use anything powered!
BOTTOM LINE: Stay somewhere else - there are plenty of others from which to choose! Overpriced for what it is.

Room Tip: SIMPLE: Stay somewhere else! Seriously, I will never recommend or return to this hotel. Pay a bit ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Could do with updating but for the money it's well worth you even get a breakfast in with the price. There is also free parking at rear of the hotel, which is covered by CCTV. The rooms where clean n the staff where helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick68_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Please note we didn't stay in the hotel as there was a mix up with bookings but when we arrived the receptionist was rude to say the least. We asked if we could leave our bags before check in as we were early, the lady honestly looked like she couldn't be bothered with us. When checking our booking she was very nasty in saying that we weren't on her list to be booked in. When we realised that there had been a mistake she had no sympathy as to our mistake, anyone would of joked about it! Don't get me wrong the hotel looked lovely from the from door and the reception was clean and tidy but first impressions count and after that experience we wont be booking in that particular hotel because of that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Booked a last minute deal one Friday afternoon for a night out. £34 bed and breakfast.
Free parking at back of hotel for about 6cars. CCTV is hooked up to reception so car relatively safe there.
Hotel is basic and our room didn't have a bathroom but we knew about this when booking. Communal showers and toilet available. Some rooms do have en suite facilities so make sure you book exactly what u want.
Don't see the point in dwelling on the dated decor and damage to rooms because we merely booked this as a place to stay for 1 night so on that basis it gave us what we needed. However I wouldn't recommend it for couples or families.
Located just off M8 so easy to get to.
Plenty of bars, newsagents, restaurants etc within few mins walk of hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel wasn't bad at all - stayed for a night while visiting the city and found it very good. Booked a twin room (which had a double bed with an extra single bed in it!) - decent and friendly staff - en-suite - TV and clean sheets.

HOWEVER....the kettle didn't work in our room, which for an Englishman, a cuppa is a must after a long night on the town!! :-(

Plus, the car park situated down a dirty, dingy alley has limited space for 3-4 cars and doesn't look safe enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have previously reviewed this hotel as good for the price as it is what it is. Unfortunatley this time I was charged £63 for one night which is a deal buster for me as I could have had a much better hotel for the same price. Not saying I won't be back but this is a £35 to £40 a night place so never again at £63 for me I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nonimaclennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#65 of 93 in Glasgow
318 reviews
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#80 of 93 in Glasgow
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#58 of 93 in Glasgow
606 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Albion Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Hotel

Address: 963 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $29 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smiths Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smiths Hotel Glasgow, is a budget hotel located on Glasgow's bustling Sauchiehall Street. This B' Listed Building with striking Victorian facade and is nestled between the city's cosmopolitan centre and the stylish West End. The Smiths Hotel is also within close proximity to theatres, entertainment venues and the city's diverse selection of retail emporia lending to its position as one of Glasgow's budget hotels for city breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smiths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing