We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Irish Ladies”
Review of Alison Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alison Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Monaghan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 Irish Ladies”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Anne , Rosaleen and Mary stayed here last month as we were attending the funeral of a dear friend. We found Kenny and Anne to be very accommodating and hospitable. Our beds were sooo comfortable which led to a good nights sleep. In the morning we had a good wholesome breakfast . Anne went out of her way to drop us off at a local shopping centre as we had time to spare before getting our taxi back to the airport. All and all a very good experience. Thanks again Anne and Kenn

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Ashleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenneth b, Owner at Alison Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2016
always a pleasure to help . and you were lovely

thanks for the comments regards ann and kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Okanagan Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived in Glasgow a bit stressed from our drive. We pulled over and searched the internet for a B&B close by. Alison Guest House was the first accommodation on the list and, using our new SatNav, it was easy to find, but Kenny and Anne were not! - - We found them enjoying a rare sunny afternoon in the backyard! haha Lucky for us, they had a room available. It wasn't fancy, but it was clean enough and the bed was comfy. In the am the big breakfast table was a good place to meet the other guests and have a leisurely chat before starting the day. Kenny and Anne were incredibly hospitable and very friendly and helpful! The location was great- only a 15 minute walk to downtown Glasgow. This was a great place to stay - and we would recommend it to any of our friends or family travelling through Glasgow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruce2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenneth b, Owner at Alison Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2016
thankyou it was a pleasure meeting you both so happy you enjoyed your stay with us

stay well and happy

regards ann and kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me and my family stayed at the Allison guest house recently the location was great just a 15-20 minute walk into Glasgow city centre. Kenny and Anne both made our stay very pleasant they made us feel very welcome would defo recommend to friends and family visiting Glasgow to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seanEnglandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenneth b, Owner at Alison Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2016
well it s taking a wee time to respond to this but always a pleasure when you can find time to respond

so happy you enjoyed your stay we do try

take care

regards ann and kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I booked a room via email at this guest house for a friend and me for an overnight stay when we were visiting Glasgow for the Bruce Springsteen concert, I also confirmed the booking with a telephone call. When we arrived we were greeted by a very unpleasant man who I assume was Kenny who informed us that there were no rooms available, no apologies were offered. After telling him my name he informed me that my name was in the book with a cross through it again with no explaination why or an apology for the mix up. Due to the concert this was the only available accomodation that i could find on the internet in the Glasgow area for that night and now I know why. Luckily we found somewhere nearby that had had a late cancelation otherwise it would have resulted in an uncomfortable night in the car.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Armstrong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenneth b, Owner at Alison Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2016
in response to this review . the people where initially booked via internet but with an oversight as we were fully booked the response re this booking was sent by return mail . but people obviously did not take note of same . and unfortunately on this day my mum had a heart attack and i was at the hospital in Kilmarnock . they had not noted they did not actually have a booking . they where accomodated by our fiends accross the road .fortunately

these things sadly do happen .

regards ann and kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was very impressed by the warmth and kindness of kenny and his wife. they made me feel welcome and could not do enough to help me. I really apreciate thier hospitality and i would definately recommend the guest house as a place like home from home.
The room was lovely and clean and the bed was very comfortable.
I will look forward to staying there in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenneth b, Owner at Alison Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2016
Thank you it was a pleasure having you stay with us stay well and happy

regards ann and kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Back for my second stay here whilst working in the city. My first stay was for 8 weeks and i enjoyed it. Kenny and Anne are great hosts and always make you feel welcome. The rooms maybe a bit dated but they are clean and comfortable. The location is good for the city.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harty74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenneth b, Owner at Alison Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2016
so sorry we did not live up to your expectations , we are a friendly small clean central guesthouse . always ready to assist in your goals . and look after your needs .

sorry we did not meet you great high standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed at this guest house and thought it was the perfect place to stay as it was walking distance into Glasgow City centre the owners were verry welcoming. I would recomend to all friends and family!! Excellent value for money and rooms are very spacious. Thank you very much for our stay and making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seanEnglandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,071 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Alamo Guest House
#2 of 36 in Glasgow
688 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Buchanan Galleries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison Guesthouse

Property: Alison Guesthouse
Address: 26 Circus Drive, Glasgow G31 2JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alison Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Alison Guesthouse Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing