We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute shambles” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alison Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alison Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute shambles”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I booked a room via email at this guest house for a friend and me for an overnight stay when we were visiting Glasgow for the Bruce Springsteen concert, I also confirmed the booking with a telephone call. When we arrived we were greeted by a very unpleasant man who I assume was Kenny who informed us that there were no rooms available, no apologies were offered. After telling him my name he informed me that my name was in the book with a cross through it again with no explaination why or an apology for the mix up. Due to the concert this was the only available accomodation that i could find on the internet in the Glasgow area for that night and now I know why. Luckily we found somewhere nearby that had had a late cancelation otherwise it would have resulted in an uncomfortable night in the car.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Armstrong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenneth b, Owner at Alison Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2016
in response to this review . the people where initially booked via internet but with an oversight as we were fully booked the response re this booking was sent by return mail . but people obviously did not take note of same . and unfortunately on this day my mum had a heart attack and i was at the hospital in Kilmarnock . they had not noted they did not actually have a booking . they where accomodated by our fiends accross the road .fortunately

these things sadly do happen .

regards ann and kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was very impressed by the warmth and kindness of kenny and his wife. they made me feel welcome and could not do enough to help me. I really apreciate thier hospitality and i would definately recommend the guest house as a place like home from home.
The room was lovely and clean and the bed was very comfortable.
I will look forward to staying there in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenneth b, Owner at Alison Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2016
Thank you it was a pleasure having you stay with us stay well and happy

regards ann and kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

Back for my second stay here whilst working in the city. My first stay was for 8 weeks and i enjoyed it. Kenny and Anne are great hosts and always make you feel welcome. The rooms maybe a bit dated but they are clean and comfortable. The location is good for the city.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harty74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenneth b, Owner at Alison Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 22, 2016
so sorry we did not live up to your expectations , we are a friendly small clean central guesthouse . always ready to assist in your goals . and look after your needs .

sorry we did not meet you great high standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed at this guest house and thought it was the perfect place to stay as it was walking distance into Glasgow City centre the owners were verry welcoming. I would recomend to all friends and family!! Excellent value for money and rooms are very spacious. Thank you very much for our stay and making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seanEnglandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

My companion and I felt so happy with Alison Guesthouse that we extended our stay from a planned 3 nights to 5. Of course the main bonus is the hosts' kindness and helpfulness. But we had soap and clean towels, maybe not new but not threadbare, and sheets on our bed. And every time we thought something was amiss (like the down comforter was too warm for the season) we said so and the problem was corrected. So by all means I recommend this guest house. It is a bit far from the historic center if you're not driving, but we finally mastered tje Glasgow bus system and you can get there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mafalda01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

Our group of eight were impressed by what we read on their website. This was our first trip to Scotland and all we had to go on was what we read. The places we stayed at in Pitlochry and Edinburgh were wonderful! Unfortunately, we were rather disappointed with Allison Guest House. The building was described as one of the finest in the area--it left a lot to be desired. There was no public room where our group could meet. We were told before hand via email that all amenities were available. However, we found out there was only one hairdryer to be had! Never saw an iron. There were no sheets on our bed- just a dust ruffle and a comforter. There was no soap, or bath mats and the towels were old, threadbare and really needed to be replaced. The owners did not tell us they were leaving on holiday before we arrived. They left a friend in charge who really did not know the area. She did a nice job of preparing breakfast for us but wasn't able to help us with any of our questions. The website boasts about plenty of parking- it was hard to find spots. The backyard patio was not available and was small and not attractive. The terms they used to describe their facility--superb, finest, elegant, etc really should not have been used. They wrote of an uncompromising level of service-- I am afraid it left much to be desired.
I would not return to this establishment.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Too many things to list
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank set2go52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Craigpark Guest House
#17 of 38 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Number 52 Charlotte Street
#16 of 38 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Seton Guest House
#25 of 38 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison Guesthouse

Property: Alison Guesthouse
Address: 26 Circus Drive, Glasgow G31 2JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alison Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Alison Guesthouse Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing