We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rather than average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bank

The Bank
Ranked #824 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Glasgow
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good rather than average!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The bank has a really lovely feel to it. It's warm and welcoming. The staff are really friendly and get the balance of being helpful but not badgering you. We took our one year old son and the staff were lovely to him. The mains aren't anything to write home about but my pudding was fantastic. We didn't have high expectations but we were pleasantly survived and will be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank laurajtyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    16
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went here on a spur of the moment Monday night.

The service was excellent from start to finish and would return based on that alone.

The food was good but could have been a bit better.

The Tandoori chicken skewers were excellent and the garlic ciabatta was possible the best Ive had in quite a while. I had smoked haddock on mixed rice and lentils, whilst it was tasty enough I felt the rice lentil mix was a bit bland and to be honest the portion was a bit small.

The cajun chicken was also a bit bland, not much cajun spice coming through. The chips were excellent however.

I'd definitely return though, it was decent and pretty good value just over £40 for 2 starters, 2 mains, a dessert, 4 pints of lager and a few cokes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bazzah41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Ok food, service very good”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went for dinner on an itison deal. Clearly most of the other customers did the same. The table was a bit rubbish, being right next to the in/out door from the kitchen. Our waitress was very good. The food was limited to what they call classics. Fish and chips were fine if a little dry. The burger could have been of better quality. All the trimmings were good but the main item was rubbery and had poor texture. House red included, which was palatable. Not much to say about the rest of the place, since we pretty much ate and ran.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlesgaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Great lunch menu and good variety,service was excellent and prices were very reasonable.nice modern decor will defo try it on an evening.i would recommend x

Helpful?
Thank chie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Smoked Haddock not smoked, strawberry shortcake not shortcake!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My friend took me here as a birthday treat. Very good value for money and a nice seperate restaurant. We both had Thai fish cakes which were very nice. I ordered the smoked haddock. The fish that came was very nice but was not smoked haddock. I didn't complain as the fish was nice but not as described on the menu! We both then ordered the Strawberry Shortcake. This came as a scone with frozen (undefrosted!!!) strawberries and cream. Again tasted alright but not as described. Overall an average experience which is a shame as this bar/restaurant has potential to be really good.

Also the ladies toilet did not smell very clean at all.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chriskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bank also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing